Review at a Glance
| Product | Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening |
|---|---|
| Price | |
| Best For | Families and weekend travellers who need bulk volume for soft luggage and long gear, and want to load from either kerb |
| Capacity (as published) | 450 litres / 16 cubic feet |
| Rated load (as published) | 75 kg |
| Shell material (as published) | ASA-ABS plastic |
| Mounting (as published) | Tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Look, a roof box is one of the few car accessories where the spec sheet actually tells you most of what you need to know before you buy. Volume, rated load, how it opens, what it's made of, and where it sits on the roof — get those four straight and you've answered 80% of the question. This review reads the published listing data for the Thule Pulse 2 L closely and says what it does and doesn't establish. This website does not do product research, so nothing below is presented as something anyone here mounted, loaded or drove with.
Supported strengths
- Thule's listing states 450 litres of cargo space, and the product title gives the same volume as 16 cubic feet.
- Dual-side opening is explicitly published — you can access your gear from either side of the vehicle.
- The tool-free mount includes a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached, and the listing says it confirms closure.
- The shell is described as hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches, and weather.
- The forward mounting position is claimed to preserve full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the box.
- The 75 kg figure is the box's published load capacity — it is not your car's roof limit, and the lower of the applicable limits always governs.
- The supplied listing information does not state exterior dimensions, box weight, crossbar spread requirements, or a warranty length, so fit and lift-and-mount logistics have to be confirmed against the manufacturer's fit guide.
- "Designed to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles" is a design claim in the listing, not a confirmed fit for your specific roof rack.
Quick Picks
| Product | Published capacity | Published load rating | Opening | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening | 450 litres / 16 cu ft | 75 kg | Dual-side | Bulk soft luggage, skis and snowboards on commutes, day trips and weekend escapes — Check Price on Amazon |
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The Thule Pulse 2 L is positioned in its own listing as a simple, durable roof box built for commuting, day trips, and weekend escapes. That's a deliberately unglamorous pitch, and it's worth taking at face value. This is not sold as a premium aero-engineered flagship; it's sold as volume, a secure mount and a sane opening arrangement.
The headline numbers are straightforward. Thule's listing states 450 litres of cargo space and a 75 kg load capacity for luggage, gear, skis and snowboards. The product title on the listing gives the volume as 16 cubic feet, which lines up with a straight conversion of 450 litres to roughly 15.9 cubic feet — so the two figures agree rather than conflict.
Here's the thing about 450 litres: it's a volume allowance, not a weight allowance. Converted, the 75 kg figure is about 165 pounds of cargo, and you will hit that ceiling long before you fill the box with anything dense. Fill 450 litres with sleeping bags, jackets, duvets and empty duffels and you'll be nowhere near the rated load. Fill it with tools, tinned food or wet gear and the weight limit becomes the binding constraint fast.
Key Features and Specifications
| Published specification | What the listing states | What that likely means for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Cargo volume | 450 litres, listed as 16 cubic feet | Enough space for bulky, light items; plan around the weight limit, not the volume |
| Load capacity | 75 kg | Roughly 165 lb of cargo, before your rack and vehicle limits are applied separately |
| Opening | Dual-side — access from either side of the vehicle | Loading from the kerb side on a street, or either side in a tight garage or ski-field car park |
| Mounting | Tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached | Removes the guesswork of "is that tight enough?" without carrying a torque wrench |
| Closure | The listing says the system confirms closure | A positive-confirmation cue rather than a visual guess before you drive away |
| Shell | Hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches, and weather | ASA is chosen in outdoor products for UV stability; the claim is resistance, not immunity |
| Shape | Streamlined, designed to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles | A styling and airflow design claim, not a published drag or noise figure |
| Position on roof | Mounted forward, giving full trunk access with minimal risk of contact | Relevant for hatchbacks, wagons and SUVs where a rear-heavy box fouls the tailgate |
Thule Pulse 2 L vs M: What the Supplied Data Can and Cannot Settle
This is the comparison most people search for, so let's be precise rather than vague. The record used for this review covers the L version only: 450 litres, 16 cubic feet, 75 kg rated load. No capacity, length or load figure for a smaller Pulse 2 size appears in the supplied listing information, and inventing one would be worse than useless when the whole point of the comparison is a length and volume difference.
What you can reason about is the decision itself. The L's published capacity of 450 litres is the argument for going long — the listing specifically names skis and snowboards among the gear it's sized for, and length is exactly what short boxes run out of. Against that, a longer box is more likely to interact with a rear hatch, an antenna, or a garage door, and the L's own selling point here is that its forward position preserves trunk access rather than that it is compact.
My read: if you are buying for winter gear or you routinely travel four-up with luggage, the L's volume is the reason it exists. If your roof is short, your crossbar spread is narrow, or your garage clearance is marginal, get the exact external dimensions for both sizes from Thule's own fit guide before committing. Volume you can't physically mount is worth nothing.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
The dual-side opening is the feature with the clearest everyday payoff. Thule's listing states you can access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle, which matters in exactly the situations where roof boxes are most annoying: parallel parked on a busy street, squeezed into a hotel bay, or standing in slush at a ski car park with traffic on one side. A single-side box forces you to load from whichever side the hinge dictates; this one doesn't.
The torque indicator is the second practical detail. The listing describes a secure, tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached, and says it confirms closure for added peace of mind. Treat that as a mounting aid, not a licence to skip the manual. The audible click tells you a clamp has reached its intended torque; it does not tell you the crossbars underneath are rated for your load, correctly spaced, or properly fitted to the roof.
On noise and fuel economy, I'll say plainly what the evidence supports: nothing specific. Thule's listing calls the shape streamlined and says it is designed to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles, but the supplied listing information publishes no drag coefficient, no wind-noise measurement and no fuel-consumption figure. Any roof box adds frontal area and changes airflow. Expect some effect; the published data doesn't let anyone put a number on it for this model.
Build Quality and Design, From Published Materials
The shell is described as hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches, and weather. That material choice is a meaningful signal rather than marketing noise — ASA is widely specified in exterior automotive and outdoor components precisely because it holds up to UV exposure better than plain ABS, which is the sort of thing that decides whether a black box still looks black after five summers on a driveway.
Be careful about scope, though. "Resists sun, scratches, and weather" is a resistance claim from the listing. It is not a waterproofing rating, not an impact rating, and not a warranty. The supplied listing information states no ingress-protection figure and no warranty term, so if long-term coverage matters to you, confirm it with Thule before purchase.
The forward mounting position deserves a note too. The listing claims full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the cargo box, thanks to its forward position on the vehicle roof. On a wagon or SUV with a tall, high-swinging tailgate, that's a genuine daily-use advantage. It also shifts more of the load toward the front crossbar, which is one more reason to follow the manufacturer's positioning instructions rather than sliding the box wherever it looks best.
Weight Limits: The Part People Get Wrong
Three separate limits apply every time you load a roof box, and they are not interchangeable:
- The box's own rated load. Thule publishes 75 kg for this model. That is cargo inside the box.
- The roof rack or crossbar limit. Set by whoever made your bars and feet, and it includes the weight of the box itself plus the cargo.
- The vehicle's dynamic roof load. Set by your car's manufacturer, in the owner's manual, and it likewise includes everything on the roof.
One safety point, stated plainly: never drive with a roof box that has not been confirmed closed and latched, and re-check the mount and latches at your first stop. If a roof box or its mounting hardware is ever subject to a recall, notices are published by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission at cpsc.gov, and general guidance on consumer rights and reporting a faulty product is collected at USA.gov's consumer protection pages.
Value for Money
Prices move, so check the current price on Amazon before you weigh this up. What the specification supports is this: you are paying for 450 litres of published volume, a 75 kg rated load, a dual-side opening and a tool-free mount with a torque indicator. Those are the four things the listing actually commits to, and each one is a feature that cheaper boxes routinely omit — single-side hinges and bolt-tightened U-clamps are common at the budget end.
What you are not paying for, on the evidence here, is a published aerodynamic figure, a stated warranty, or documented security hardware. Judge the price against the volume, the opening and the mounting system, because those are the claims the listing supports.
Who Should Buy This
Buy it if: you regularly run out of boot space on family trips, you carry skis or snowboards, you park where only one side of the car is accessible, and you have a roof rack whose published limits comfortably cover the box plus your intended load.
Think twice if: you haul dense, heavy cargo — 75 kg fills up quickly with anything that isn't soft luggage. Also pause if your garage clearance is tight, if your crossbar spread is unusually narrow, or if you need a box you can lift and stow single-handed, because the supplied listing information doesn't publish the weight or dimensions you'd need to plan that.
How We Research
This page was written from two source types and no others: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0G8BQ691W, retrieved 11 September 2026, and the product listing feature bullets published on that same listing. Every capacity, load rating, material and feature statement above traces back to one of those, and each is attributed to the listing rather than presented as an observation.
Where the record is silent — dimensions, empty weight, warranty, locking hardware, aerodynamic figures — this review says so instead of guessing. A field that isn't in the supplied listing data is unknown, not absent from the product.
Final Verdict
The Thule Pulse 2 L is an easy recommendation for one specific buyer: someone who needs bulk volume for light, awkward gear and wants to load it from whichever side of the car happens to be free. The published 450 litres and the dual-side opening are the two facts that justify it, and they're both explicit in the listing rather than implied.
The caveat is equally specific. Its 75 kg rated load is a real ceiling, and it is only the first of three limits you have to respect — the rack and the vehicle both impose their own, and the empty weight of the box eats into those. Confirm the fit and the numbers against Thule's own documentation for your exact vehicle and crossbars, and this is a sensible, well-specified box. Skip it if your cargo is heavy rather than bulky, because volume won't help you there.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the Thule Pulse 2 open from both sides? Yes, according to the listing. Thule's feature bullet states you can access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle, which is the main practical argument for this box over single-side designs when you park on the street or in narrow bays.
How much weight can the Thule Pulse 2 L hold? Thule's listing states a 75 kg load capacity, about 165 pounds. That is the box's own cargo rating. Your crossbars and your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit apply separately and include the weight of the box itself, so the lowest of the three figures is your real allowance.
Thule Pulse 2 L vs M — which should I get? The data used here covers the L only, at 450 litres and 75 kg, so no volume or length figure for a smaller size is asserted in this review. Choose on length: the L is the size the listing associates with skis and snowboards, while a shorter box is the safer bet for tight garages and narrow crossbar spreads. Confirm both sizes' exterior dimensions with Thule before ordering.
What is the Thule Pulse 2 made of? The listing describes hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches, and weather. ASA is commonly specified for outdoor and exterior automotive parts for its UV stability, though the listing's wording is a resistance claim and not a warranty or a weatherproofing rating.
Will it fit my car? The listing says the streamlined shape is designed to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles, but that is a design claim, not a confirmed fit. You need a roof rack with crossbars, a compatible crossbar spread and enough published load capacity. Check Thule's fit guide for your exact make, model and year before buying.
Does it come with a lock? The supplied listing information does not state a locking system or key arrangement for this model, so this review makes no claim either way. Confirm the security hardware on Thule's own product specification page if lockability is a deciding factor for you.
Sources and Methodology
Nobody at this website drove with this roof box, mounted it, weighed it or loaded it — we run no vehicle testing and no laboratory, and we don't pretend otherwise. What we did do is read the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0G8BQ691W and its published listing feature bullets, retrieved 11 September 2026, and work through what those figures imply: converting 450 litres against the stated 16 cubic feet, translating the 75 kg rating into the weight-versus-volume tradeoff it actually creates, and flagging every field the record leaves blank.
For cargo boxes specifically, that approach gets you a long way, because capacity, load rating, opening arrangement and shell material are all published numbers rather than subjective impressions. What it cannot settle is wind noise, fuel-economy impact, long-term seal behaviour or fit on your particular roof — those need either the manufacturer's own documentation or your own crossbar measurements.