Review at a Glance
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Price | |
| Best For | Drivers who need rear-door or tailgate access without unloading a hitch carrier |
| Capacity | Amazon's listing states 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space |
| Load rating | Amazon's listing states a 200 lb load rating |
| Key hardware | Keyed locking latch, hitch tightener, reflectors, LED taillights (per listing) |
| Limitations | Vehicle/hitch compatibility, dimensions, weight and warranty are not stated in the supplied listing information |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
This is a specifications-led review. Nobody on this website has handled, mounted, loaded or driven with this carrier — the analysis below comes from reading the published listing data closely and explaining what those numbers likely mean for a buyer.
Pros (as published):
- 16 cubic feet of enclosed space keeps gear out of the cabin.
- The Swingaway frame is described as pivoting fully to the side for rear access without removing the carrier.
- Molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks, per the listing.
- Keyed locking latch, hitch tightener, reflectors and LED taillights are all listed as included.
- Assembled in the Pacific Northwest with American-made components, per the listing.
- No hitch class, tongue-weight requirement or vehicle fit list appears in the supplied listing information.
- No exterior dimensions or empty weight appear in the supplied listing information.
- No warranty term appears in the supplied listing information.
- MAXIMUM STORAGE & CAPACITY – 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space and a 200 lb load rating provide plenty of room for luggage, camping gear, or tools while keeping your vehicle
- FULL REAR ACCESS WITH SWINGAWAY FRAME – The StowAway Swingaway frame pivots completely to the side, giving unobstructed access to your rear doors, hatch, or tailgate without
Quick Picks
| Product | Stated capacity | Stated load rating | Standout listed feature | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory | 16 cubic feet | 200 lb | Swingaway frame pivots fully to the side for rear access | Check Price on Amazon |
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
A hitch cargo box is an enclosed carrier that mounts in a receiver hitch behind the vehicle instead of on the roof. The pitch is simple: no lifting gear overhead, no roof-rack crossbars, no added height at the parking garage. The catch with most rear-mounted boxes is equally simple — they sit directly in front of the thing you open most, your hatch or tailgate.
That is the exact problem this model's headline feature targets. Amazon's listing describes a Swingaway frame that pivots completely to the side, giving unobstructed access to rear doors, a hatch or a tailgate without removing the carrier. If you camp, road-trip with dogs, or run a work vehicle where the back opens twenty times a day, that mechanism is the whole reason to look at this carrier rather than a cheaper fixed box.
The second number that matters: Amazon's listing states 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space and a 200 lb load rating for this carrier. Sixteen cubic feet is real luggage volume — think multiple duffels and a cooler rather than a couple of backpacks. Keep the two figures separate in your head, though. Volume is not a weight allowance. You can fill 16 cubic feet with camping foam and never approach 200 lb, or half-fill it with tools and blow straight past the rating.
Key Features and Specifications
| Specification | What the listing states | What that suggests for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Enclosed capacity | 16 cubic feet | Enough for bulky soft goods; plan by volume, not by "number of bags" |
| Load rating | 200 lb | A hard ceiling for cargo; weigh heavy loads such as tools rather than estimating |
| Access | Swingaway frame pivots completely to the side | Rear access without unloading or dismounting the box |
| Material | Impact-resistant polymer also used in whitewater kayaks | Points to a molded shell chosen for impact tolerance |
| Security | Keyed locking latch | Locks the lid; it is a deterrent, not a safe |
| Mounting hardware | Hitch tightener | Aimed at reducing play in the receiver |
| Visibility | Reflectors and LED taillights | Addresses the classic rear-carrier problem of blocking factory lights |
| Origin | Assembled in the Pacific Northwest with American-made components | Relevant if sourcing matters to you |
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
Here's the honest framing: a listing tells you what a product is built to do, not what it did on any particular trip. Nothing below is an observed result.
The 200 lb figure is the number that should drive your packing plan. Two adults' worth of camping kit, a cooler and folding chairs can approach that quickly once you add water and tools. Because the listing gives a specific ceiling, treat it as a ceiling — and remember it is only one of several limits stacked on top of each other.
The others are not in this record. Your vehicle has a tongue-weight limit. Your receiver hitch has its own class rating. A swing-away frame is a cantilevered structure, so the carrier's own empty weight plus your cargo both act on that receiver. The supplied listing information does not state the carrier's installed weight, its required hitch class, or a vehicle compatibility list, so you cannot do that arithmetic from this page alone. Confirm those figures with StowAway and with your vehicle's owner manual before you buy — and never substitute a vehicle payload number for a missing carrier rating.
On visibility, the inclusion of reflectors and LED taillights is more meaningful than it looks on a bullet list. Any box that sits behind the bumper risks obscuring factory lighting and plates, which is a legal issue in many jurisdictions as well as a safety one. Integrated lighting is the design answer to that; wiring, connector type and plate provisions are not described in the supplied listing information.
Build Quality and Design
The listing says the Max Cargo Box is molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks. That is a material-sourcing statement, and it's a sensible one for a rear-mounted box — the back of a vehicle is where road debris, parking-lot bumps and stone chips actually land. What it does not do on its own is establish UV stability over years, seal performance in a storm, or how the box behaves when overloaded. The listing separately describes the construction as weather-resistant and built to withstand years of heavy use and harsh weather, which is the manufacturer's durability claim rather than an independent verification.
The hitch tightener is the detail experienced hitch users will notice. Play in a receiver is the source of most rear-carrier annoyances, and a cantilevered swing frame amplifies any slop into movement at the far end of the box. An anti-rattle device being listed as standard hardware suggests the design accounts for that. How much it reduces movement is not something this record quantifies.
Finally, the listing states the carrier is assembled in the Pacific Northwest using American-made components. Treat that as a sourcing and support consideration, not as a performance spec.
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory — Best for frequent rear-hatch access on a hitch-equipped vehicle
The specification that earns this pick is the Swingaway frame, which the listing describes as pivoting completely to the side for unobstructed rear access without removing the carrier, paired with a stated 16 cubic feet and a 200 lb load rating. That combination targets one buyer precisely: someone who wants a large enclosed box permanently mounted for a trip or a season, but who still opens the tailgate constantly. If your gear lives in the box for a week of camping and you need the hatch every evening, a fixed carrier makes you choose between access and convenience. This design is built so you don't.
It is a weaker fit for a buyer whose rear opening is rarely used, or whose vehicle's hitch and tongue-weight ratings haven't been checked — in the second case, fit comes before features, full stop.
Black vs Ivory: What the Record Actually Covers
Shoppers search this comparison constantly, so let's be precise rather than inventive. The supplied listing information covers the Ivory finish of this carrier and does not state specifications for any other color option. That means there is no basis here to claim a capacity, material, hardware or durability difference between finishes — and no basis to claim they are identical either.
What you can reason about generally: lighter exterior colors tend to show road grime sooner and dark ones show dust and scratches differently. That is a cosmetic preference, not a spec difference, and anyone telling you a color changes the load rating is guessing. If StowAway lists a black variant you're weighing, ask the manufacturer to confirm the specification sheet for that exact SKU before assuming it matches.
Fit, Hitch and Load: Read This Before You Add to Cart
- Confirm your receiver hitch's class and rating with the hitch manufacturer or installer.
- Confirm your vehicle's maximum tongue weight in the owner manual.
- Ask StowAway for this carrier's installed weight and required hitch class — that figure is not in the supplied listing information, and shipping weight is not installed weight.
- Subtract the carrier's own weight from your available tongue weight before planning cargo, then keep cargo at or under the stated 200 lb load rating, whichever is lower.
- Follow StowAway's own mounting and latching instructions. Don't improvise mounting, drilling or latch fixes from a product listing, and never drive with the box unlatched or the frame swung open.
Value for Money
Pricing moves, so check the current price on Amazon rather than trusting a number frozen on a static page. What you can evaluate is what's bundled into the base product. The listing includes the locking latch, hitch tightener, reflectors and LED taillights as features rather than describing them as extras — on rear-mounted carriers, lighting and anti-rattle hardware are exactly the items that quietly add cost later. Value here hinges on whether you'll genuinely use the swing-away function. If you will, you're buying a mechanism a fixed box can't replicate. If you won't, you're paying for a hinge you'll never swing.
Who Should Buy This
Buy it if you have a hitch-equipped SUV, van or truck, you need 16 cubic feet of enclosed space, your loads stay under 200 lb, and you open the back constantly. Skip it if you haven't verified your hitch class and tongue-weight headroom, if your loads are dense and heavy enough to push past the stated rating, or if a roof-mounted solution suits your height clearance and loading habits better. If you're still deciding between mounting positions, our broader hitch cargo carrier guide and roof cargo box guide cover that tradeoff.
How We Research
This review is built from two source types: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0045VVT9G and the product listing feature bullets published on that listing, both retrieved on September 11, 2026. We read every published bullet, separate manufacturer claims from independently verified facts, flag which purchase-relevant specifications are absent from the record, and reason from the stated figures to the practical consequences a buyer should plan around. No physical handling, mounting, loading or road use took place on this website's behalf.
Final Verdict
The Swingaway frame is the reason to buy this carrier, and it's a genuinely good reason. A 16 cubic foot enclosed box that swings clear of your tailgate solves a real, daily annoyance that cheaper fixed carriers simply don't address — and the stated 200 lb load rating, keyed locking latch, hitch tightener and integrated LED taillights suggest a product designed around how rear carriers are actually lived with, not just how they look in a catalogue.
My recommendation is conditional, and deliberately so: this is a strong pick for a hitch-equipped vehicle owner who needs frequent rear access and has confirmed hitch class, tongue weight and the carrier's installed weight with StowAway first. The supplied listing information doesn't establish dimensions, fit or warranty, so do that homework before committing. Get those confirmations and the feature set lines up cleanly with the use case.
Frequently Asked Questions
Amazon's listing states 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space with a 200 lb load rating for this carrier. Plan against both numbers separately, since volume and weight are different limits.
Do you have to remove the box to open the tailgate?
No, per the listing. The listing describes a Swingaway frame that pivots completely to the side, giving unobstructed access to rear doors, a hatch or a tailgate without removing the carrier.
Is the StowAway Max lockable?
The listing states that security and visibility hardware includes a keyed locking latch, a hitch tightener, reflectors and LED taillights. A keyed latch is a deterrent against casual theft, not a guarantee of security.
What is the difference between the black and ivory versions?
The supplied listing information covers the Ivory finish of this carrier and does not state specifications for any other color option. Confirm the exact specification sheet for any other SKU with StowAway before assuming the two match.
Will it fit my vehicle?
The supplied listing information does not state a hitch class, tongue-weight requirement or vehicle compatibility list. Check your receiver's rating, your vehicle's tongue-weight limit and StowAway's fit guidance before ordering.
What is it made of?
The listing says the Max Cargo Box is molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks. That describes the material choice; long-term weather and UV performance are manufacturer claims rather than independently verified results here.
Where is it made, and is there a warranty?
The listing states the carrier is assembled in the Pacific Northwest using American-made components. No warranty term appears in the supplied listing information, so ask the manufacturer directly. The Consumer Product Safety Commission publishes recall and safety information for consumer products, and USA.gov's consumer protection pages explain how to file a complaint if a purchase goes wrong.
Sources and Methodology
This website runs no lab and did no physical or laboratory testing of this cargo box — it was never mounted, loaded or driven behind a vehicle by anyone here. What we did do is pull the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0045VVT9G on September 11, 2026, read each published listing feature bullet in full, and work out what a stated 16 cubic foot capacity and 200 lb load rating mean for real packing decisions, while marking clearly which purchase-critical details the record leaves open. For hitch-mounted cargo boxes that gets you a reliable picture of capacity, hardware and intended use case — but fit, tongue weight and long-term weather durability are questions only the manufacturer's own specifications and your vehicle's manual can close.