Review at a Glance
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Product | Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft – Hard Shell Roof Rack Storage Carrier, Strut Assisted, Lockable & Weatherproof, No Drill Install |
| Price | |
| Best For | Families and weekend campers with an existing cross rail roof rack who want a hard-shell box that mounts without drilling |
| Stated capacity | 14.46 cu ft, interior 65" L x 32" W x 13" H |
| Stated load limit | Up to 125 lbs of evenly distributed cargo |
| Warranty | 3-year limited, per the listing |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Last Updated: September 2026
This website does not do hands-on testing. What follows is a close reading of the published listing data for one specific roof box, plus honest flags where that data stops short of answering a buying question.
Supported pros
- The listing states 14.46 cu ft of added capacity with interior dimensions of 65" L x 32" W x 13" H.
- Integrated assist struts hold the lid open, with a built-in pull strap for controlled closure, per the listing.
- Waterproof gasketing and a locking lid are listed for weather sealing and theft deterrence.
- Installs on most cross rail roof rack systems using included hardware and predrilled mounting points, with no drilling required per the listing.
- High-impact UV-protected ABS construction, made in the USA, with a 3-year limited warranty per the listing.
- The 13" interior height is the constraint that matters most; tall duffels and hard-sided suitcases stood upright will not be the natural load.
- "Most cross rail roof rack systems" is not a fit guarantee. You need to confirm your own crossbar spread, bar shape and rack rating.
- The supplied listing information does not state the box's exterior dimensions or its own empty weight, both of which you need to check your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit.
- Add Storage Without Sacrificing Interior Space: Expands your cargo capacity by 14.46 cu ft with generous 65" L x 32" W x 13" H interior dimensions—ideal for luggage, camping gear
- Built for Road Trips, Weather & Daily Use: High-impact UV-protected ABS resists fading, cracking, and long-term wear while supporting up to 125 lbs of evenly distributed cargo for
Quick Picks
| Product | Best for | Stated capacity | Stated cargo limit | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft – Hard Shell Roof Rack Storage Carrier, Strut Assisted, Lockable & Weatherproof, No Drill Install | Existing cross rail racks, no-drill installation, soft and medium-height gear | 14.46 cu ft (65" x 32" x 13" interior) | Up to 125 lbs evenly distributed | Check Price on Amazon |
Only one product has a supplied record for this page, so there is one row. A single-product table is more useful to you than a table padded with models whose specifications nobody here verified.
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
Here's the short version. This is a hard-shell, lockable roof box that Amazon's listing describes as adding 14.46 cu ft of cargo space with a 65" L x 32" W x 13" H interior, rated to carry up to 125 lbs of evenly distributed cargo, and mounting on most cross rail roof rack systems with included hardware and no drilling. [S3]
Those four numbers — 14.46, 65, 32, 13, plus the 125 lb limit — do most of the explaining. A 13-inch interior height is a shallow-to-moderate profile box. Combine it with 65 inches of length and you get a shape that, by inference, favours sleeping bags, camp chairs, tents, soft duffels and skis over upright hard luggage. That is a reading of the published dimensions, not something observed here.
The lid hardware is the other headline. The listing credits integrated assist struts that hold the lid open plus a built-in pull strap for controlled closure, framing both as helpful with bulky or heavy items. [S3] Struts on a roof box are a genuine usability feature: a lid that stays up is a lid you can load with two hands.
The listing also states UV-protected high-impact ABS, waterproof gasketing, a secure locking lid, made-in-the-USA manufacture and a 3-year limited warranty. [S3]
Key Features and Specifications
| Specification | Published value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Added cargo volume | 14.46 cu ft | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Interior dimensions | 65" L x 32" W x 13" H | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Cargo weight limit | Up to 125 lbs, evenly distributed | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Shell material | High-impact, UV-protected ABS | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Lid mechanism | Integrated assist struts; built-in pull strap for closure | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Weather sealing | Waterproof gasketing | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Security | Secure locking lid | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Mounting | Most cross rail roof rack systems; included hardware; predrilled mounting points; no drilling | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Removability | Easily removable when not needed | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Origin and warranty | Made in the USA; 3-year limited warranty | Amazon listing feature bullet [S3] |
| Exterior dimensions | Not stated in the supplied listing information | — |
| Empty weight of the box | Not stated in the supplied listing information | — |
| Compatible crossbar spread or bar widths | Not stated in the supplied listing information | — |
| Opening side or dual-side opening | Not stated in the supplied listing information | — |
Reading the 14.46 cu ft figure honestly
Volume is not a weight allowance, and this is where roof box shoppers get burned. The listing gives you 14.46 cu ft of space and, separately, a 125 lb evenly-distributed cargo limit. [S3] Fill 14.46 cu ft with something dense and you will hit 125 lbs long before you run out of room. Fill it with bedding and you will run out of room with the weight limit barely touched.
Treat 125 lbs as the hard ceiling for what goes inside, and remember it is the cargo figure the manufacturer publishes — the box's own weight sits on top of that when you are checking a vehicle or rack limit.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
Direct answer: on the published specifications, this box should suit a family loading soft, medium-height gear onto an existing cross rail rack, and it should be a poor match for anyone needing tall upright luggage or loads heavier than the 125 lb cargo rating. [S3]
Work through a hypothetical. Say you are packing for four people on a five-day camping trip: a tent, four sleeping bags, pads, a couple of camp chairs and soft duffels. That is bulky, light gear — exactly the profile a 65 x 32 x 13 inch cavity with a 125 lb allowance is shaped for. [S3] This is a reasoning exercise from the published dimensions, not a load anyone here carried.
Now the less flattering hypothetical. Two large hard-shell suitcases, each with a body depth over 13 inches, will not stand up in a 13-inch-high interior. [S3] You would be laying them flat, which changes the maths on how much else fits. Measure your actual bags against the 13-inch figure before you commit.
On weather, the listing claims waterproof gasketing and a locking lid intended to shield gear from rain, snow, dust and road debris. [S3] That is the seller's description of the design intent. It is not independent verification, and no listed source establishes a hydrostatic rating or a water-ingress test standard for this box. If you are hauling electronics or down bags across the Rockies in February, bag them separately anyway — that is generic good practice, not a criticism of this specific gasket.
What the listing does not let anyone conclude
- Noise and fuel-economy impact. No listed source gives a drag figure, a height, or an aerodynamic claim for this model.
- Real-world cold-weather latch behaviour or long-term gasket compression. Not addressed in the supplied listing information.
- Whether the lid opens from one side or both, which affects loading from a curb.
Build Quality and Design, From the Published Materials
Everything below is inferred from the material and hardware the listing names. Nobody here inspected, flexed, or weighed this box.
The shell is described as high-impact, UV-protected ABS that resists fading, cracking and long-term wear. [S3] ABS is a sensible, common choice for a hard-shell carrier. The UV-protection call-out matters more than it sounds: a roof box lives in direct sun every day it stays mounted, and unprotected plastics chalk and get brittle. What the listing does not do is quantify the UV protection, so treat it as a design claim rather than a measured lifespan.
The strut-assisted lid plus pull strap is the design detail I would weight most heavily if I were shopping from specs alone. [S3] Struts that hold the lid up change loading from a wrestling match into a two-handed job. The pull strap exists for the reverse problem — a big lid coming down. The listing describes it as allowing controlled closure. [S3]
Mounting is via predrilled mounting points and included hardware onto most cross rail roof rack systems, with no drilling required, and the box is described as easily removable when not needed. [S3] That combination — no drill, removable — is the right architecture for someone who does not want a permanent roof fixture.
A note on "easily removable": the listing says removable, not that one person can lift it alone. No listed source gives the box's weight, so plan on two people for on-and-off and a place to store a 65-inch shell. [S3]
Value for Money
Check current price on Amazon, then judge value against three things the listing does establish: 14.46 cu ft of capacity, the strut-assisted lid with pull strap, and the 3-year limited warranty. [S3]
A three-year limited warranty on a plastic shell that lives outdoors is a real part of the offer. It is limited, which means its terms decide what is covered, so read them before you treat it as blanket protection.
One caution: a 14.46 cu ft box with a 125 lb cargo rating and a no-drill crossbar mount is competing in a crowded category. [S3] No listed source here provides comparative pricing or competitor specifications, so this page will not tell you it beats brand X on value. Compare the numbers above against whatever else is on your shortlist.
Fit and Safety: The Part That Is On You
This is the section that actually prevents a bad purchase.
- Confirm your rack, not just your roof. The listing says the box installs on most cross rail roof rack systems using included hardware. [S3] "Most" is not "yours." Check your crossbar shape, spacing and spread against the manufacturer's instructions before ordering.
- Stack every limit separately. Your vehicle has a roof load limit. Your rack has its own rating. This box publishes a 125 lb cargo limit. [S3] Each has its own definition, and the box's own weight counts against the vehicle and rack limits. Never substitute one figure for another, and never use a shipping weight as an installed weight.
- Distribute the load. The 125 lb figure is specified as evenly distributed cargo. [S3] Concentrating that weight at one end is not what the rating describes.
- Follow the manufacturer's instructions for mounting and latching. The listing mentions predrilled mounting points and included hardware. [S3] It does not publish torque values or a latch adjustment procedure here, so use the instructions that ship with the box and contact Rough Country for anything ambiguous. Never drive with a lid that has not latched shut.
- Re-check after the first few miles. Standard practice for any roof-mounted load.
If you are still deciding between a hard box and a bag, our roof cargo bag vs box comparison walks through the tradeoffs, and measuring your crossbar spread covers the fit check above.
Who Should Buy This
Buy it if:
- You already have a cross rail roof rack and want a hard shell on it without drilling. [S3]
- Your typical load is bulky but light: tents, bags, pads, chairs, camp kitchen. The 14.46 cu ft volume with a 125 lb cargo limit is shaped for that. [S3]
- You want the lid to stay open while you load, and you value the pull strap for bringing it back down. [S3]
- A 3-year limited warranty and US manufacture matter to you. [S3]
- Your luggage is taller than the 13" interior height. [S3]
- You need more than 125 lbs of cargo up top. [S3]
- You have no roof rack at all. The listing describes mounting onto cross rail systems, not onto a bare roof. [S3]
- You need a published exterior height or box weight before you will buy, and you cannot get it confirmed from Rough Country. The supplied listing information does not state either.
How We Research
No lab, no test track, no hands-on use. For this page, the work consisted of pulling the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0GMYM84TV on 2026-09-11 and reading each of its five listing feature bullets closely, then separating what the seller actually publishes from what shoppers commonly assume.
Where a bullet gives a number, that number is reproduced here exactly and attributed. Where a field is absent — exterior dimensions, box weight, compatible bar widths — this page says so rather than filling it from a similar-sounding product. No owner-feedback themes or aggregate ratings were supplied for this ASIN, so none are characterised.
Alternatives
This page has verified listing data for one product, so it names no alternatives. Recommending competing roof boxes would mean describing specifications nobody here checked, and a fabricated comparison is worse for you than a short article.
Final Verdict
On specifications alone, this is a coherent, well-targeted roof box rather than a compromise. The 14.46 cu ft volume with a 65" x 32" x 13" interior, a 125 lb evenly-distributed cargo rating, strut-assisted lid with a pull strap, waterproof gasketing, a locking lid, no-drill cross rail mounting and a 3-year limited warranty add up to a sensible package for a family hauling bulky camp and travel gear on an existing rack. [S3]
The honest caveats are the 13-inch interior height, which rules out upright hard luggage, and the fit homework that "most cross rail roof rack systems" leaves to you. Confirm your rack and your vehicle's roof limit first, keep the 125 lb cargo ceiling in mind, and this is a straightforward recommendation for that buyer.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does the Rough Country 14.5 cu ft roof box hold?
The listing states it expands cargo capacity by 14.46 cu ft, with interior dimensions of 65" L x 32" W x 13" H. [S3] Separately, it is rated to support up to 125 lbs of evenly distributed cargo. [S3] Volume and weight are different limits, so you can run out of one before the other.
Does it require drilling to install?
No. The listing states it installs on most cross rail roof rack systems using included hardware and predrilled mounting points, with no drilling required, and that it is easily removable when not needed. [S3] "Most" systems is not a guarantee for your specific rack, so confirm your crossbar setup against the manufacturer's instructions before buying.
Will it fit my car?
The supplied listing information does not publish a compatible crossbar spread, bar shape list or exterior dimensions, so fit cannot be confirmed from this page. What the listing does establish is that it mounts to cross rail roof rack systems rather than to a bare roof. [S3] Check your crossbar spacing and your vehicle's roof load limit with Rough Country and your vehicle manual.
Is it actually waterproof?
The listing credits waterproof gasketing and a secure locking lid intended to shield gear from rain, snow, dust and road debris. [S3] That is the seller's description of the design, not an independently verified ingress rating, and no listed source gives a water-resistance test standard for this model. Bagging sensitive gear separately is still sensible.
What do the assist struts and pull strap do?
Per the listing, integrated assist struts hold the lid open for simpler loading, while a built-in pull strap allows controlled closure, which the listing notes is especially helpful with bulky or heavy items. [S3] In practical terms, a lid that stays up frees both hands during loading, and the strap gives you something to grab on a large lid coming down.
What is the warranty, and where is it made?
The listing states a 3-year limited warranty and that the box is made in the USA. [S3] Because it is a limited warranty, its written terms determine what is actually covered.
Can one person lift it off the car?
The listing describes the box as easily removable when not needed, but the supplied listing information does not state the box's own weight. [S3] Removability is not the same as one-person handling, so plan for a second set of hands and somewhere to store a 65-inch shell.
Sources and Methodology
Nothing on this page came from physically handling or laboratory-testing the box. The entire analysis rests on the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0GMYM84TV, retrieved 2026-09-11, and the five listing feature bullets published with it, read line by line so that every number quoted here traces back to the seller's own published text. [S3]
What that kind of reading genuinely buys you in the roof-box category is a clear view of the two numbers that decide whether a box works for you — usable interior height and the published cargo weight limit — plus a sharp sense of which questions the listing leaves open, such as exterior dimensions, box weight and exact rack compatibility. Those open questions belong to the manufacturer and to your own crossbar measurements, and this page points you there instead of guessing. Broader safety and recall context for consumer products is available from the CPSC [S1] and USA.gov [S2].