As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Pick | Model | Why | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best when you need stated interior dimensions | Pelican Cargo Case BX90R (Black) | Listing states a 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior storage capacity [S3] | Check Price on Amazon |
| Best when volume and sealing detail matter most | Pelican BX140-BLK – BX140 140L Large Roof-Mount Cargo Case | Listed at 140 liters with an EPDM O-ring gasket and e-coated steel latches [S4] | Check Price on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Two hard-sided Pelican cargo cases, two very different listings. One is described by its interior footprint, the other by its liter count — and that mismatch is exactly why this comparison is harder than it looks. Here's what the published listing data actually supports, and what it doesn't.
- Perfect for securing gear on roof rack or truck bed
- Extremely durable and weather resistant construction
- 140-liter capacity ideal for large gear loads
- Roto-molded polyethylene body for maximum impact resistance
Quick Answer
If you want the case whose listing states an explicit interior footprint you can measure your gear against, the Pelican Cargo Case BX90R (Black) is the one: Amazon's listing gives a 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior storage capacity [S3]. If your priority is raw volume plus a sealing and hardware spec sheet you can read line by line, the Pelican BX140-BLK – BX140 140L Large Roof-Mount Cargo Case, Black is the more detailed record — its listing states 140-liter capacity, a roto-molded polyethylene body, an EPDM O-ring gasket for weatherproof and dustproof sealing, and e-coated steel latches [S4].
Both are listed as roof-rack capable but both require a separately sold mount: the BX90R listing specifies the Cargo Roof Mount (sold separately) [S3], and the BX140 listing specifies compatibility with the Pelican Roof Cargo Mount Kit (sold separately) [S4].
Full Comparison Table
| Feature | Pelican Cargo Case BX90R (Black) | Pelican BX140-BLK – BX140 140L Large Roof-Mount Cargo Case, Black |
|---|---|---|
| Stated capacity | 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior storage capacity [S3] | 140 liters [S4] |
| Body material | Not stated in the supplied listing information | Roto-molded polyethylene [S4] |
| Sealing | "Extremely durable and weather resistant construction" [S3] | EPDM O-ring gasket, described as weatherproof and dustproof [S4] |
| Latches | Not stated in the supplied listing information | E-coated steel latches, described as corrosion-resistant [S4] |
| Handles | Heavy duty handles [S3] | Lay-flat, spring-loaded handles [S4] |
| Tie-down points | Tie-down plates for secure mounting [S3] | Molded-in tie-down plates for roof rack mounting [S4] |
| Roof mount | Designed for secure roof mounting with Cargo Roof Mount, sold separately [S3] | Compatible with Pelican Roof Cargo Mount Kit, sold separately [S4] |
| Stacking | Not stated in the supplied listing information | Listed as stackable with other Pelican Cargo Series cases [S4] |
| Country of manufacture | Not stated in the supplied listing information | Listed as Made in the USA [S4] |
| Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
A note on the blanks: "not stated in the supplied listing information" means the retailer bullets we read do not name that attribute. It does not mean the feature is missing from the product, and it is not a strike against the BX90R.
Design & Build Quality
Here's the thing about comparing these two: they are described in different vocabularies. The BX140 listing names its construction directly — a roto-molded polyethylene body for maximum impact resistance [S4]. The BX90R listing uses an outcome word instead, calling the construction extremely durable and weather resistant [S3], without naming the polymer or the molding process.
That asymmetry matters if you are the kind of buyer who wants a material named before committing. Roto-molding is a one-piece process that produces uniform wall thickness, so the BX140's stated construction reasonably suggests a seamless shell — but that is an inference from the process name in the listing, not a durability figure anyone published.
On sealing, only the BX140 listing specifies a mechanism: an EPDM O-ring gasket described as weatherproof and dustproof [S4]. "Weather resistant" on the BX90R listing [S3] is a broader, softer term. Treat them as differently-worded claims from the same retailer rather than a proven ranking of real-world water exposure. Neither listing supplied here quotes an IP rating or an immersion depth.
Preferred option: the BX140, but on documentation depth only. Its listing simply tells you more about what the case is made of and how it closes.
Features & Functionality
Both cases are pitched at the same job. The BX90R is described as perfect for securing gear on a roof rack or truck bed, with heavy duty handles and tie-down plates for secure mounting [S3]. The BX140 lists molded-in tie-down plates for roof rack mounting and lay-flat, spring-loaded handles for easy handling [S4].
Those handle descriptions are worth pausing on. "Lay-flat, spring-loaded" [S4] implies handles that fold out of the way when not gripped — a sensible detail on a case that may sit under a crossbar or next to another box. "Heavy duty" [S3] describes robustness, not geometry. Different claims, not better versus worse.
The BX140 listing adds two things the BX90R bullets do not mention: e-coated steel latches for corrosion-resistant security [S4] and stackability with other Pelican Cargo Series cases [S4]. If you are building a two-case setup in a truck bed or a garage, that stated stacking claim is a real planning advantage. The BX140 is also listed as Made in the USA [S4]; the supplied BX90R bullets do not state a country of manufacture.
Preferred option: the BX140 on stated feature count, with the caveat that a longer bullet list is a documentation difference, not proof of a hardware gap.
Performance
Neither listing supplied here publishes a load rating, a lid rating, a maximum cargo weight, a wind-load figure, or a warranty term. So "performance" has to mean capacity and fit, because those are the only supported dimensions.
On capacity, you cannot cleanly convert between them. Amazon lists the BX90R at a 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior storage capacity [S3] and the BX140 at 140 liters [S4] — one is a usable footprint, the other is a volume figure. A footprint tells you whether a 34-inch duffel or a rifle case lies flat; a liter number tells you total swallowed volume without telling you the shape. Use the BX90R's stated interior dimensions to check your longest item, and go to Pelican's own documentation for the BX140's dimensions before assuming anything fits lengthwise.
Critically, capacity is not a weight allowance. A 140-liter figure [S4] says nothing about how many pounds the case, your rack, your crossbars or your vehicle roof are rated to carry. Those are four separate limits with four separate definitions, and every one of them must include the weight of the empty case plus the mount hardware plus the cargo. Get each number from the vehicle manufacturer, the rack manufacturer and Pelican before you load anything.
Also: neither of these is a bolt-on. Both listings state that the roof mount is sold separately [S3][S4], so budget for the mount kit and confirm it matches your exact crossbar and vehicle before ordering. Never drive with a carrier you have not confirmed is fully latched and secured per the manufacturer's instructions. For background on general consumer product safety practice, the CPSC is the authoritative US starting point [S1].
Preferred option: not established by the supplied data. Bigger volume is not better performance if your rack's rated limit or your gear's shape says otherwise.
Price & Value
Pricing moves, so check both live: Check Price on Amazon for the Pelican Cargo Case BX90R (Black), and Check Price on Amazon for the Pelican BX140-BLK – BX140 140L Large Roof-Mount Cargo Case.
When you compare, compare the whole setup. Both cases need a separately sold mount [S3][S4], so the honest cost of either is case plus mount kit. Value here is less about the sticker and more about whether you are buying volume you will actually fill, or a footprint that fits the one long item you care about.
Pelican Cargo Case BX90R (Black) — Best for buyers who need a stated interior footprint
Strengths: Amazon's listing gives a concrete 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior storage capacity [S3], which is the single most useful spec when you are trying to work out whether a specific long item lies flat. It is described as suitable for a roof rack or a truck bed, with heavy duty handles and tie-down plates for secure mounting [S3].
Limitations to know: the roof mount is sold separately [S3], and the supplied bullets do not name the body material, latch material, gasket type, or a weight rating. If those specifics drive your decision, request them from Pelican before buying.
Pelican BX140-BLK – BX140 140L Large Roof-Mount Cargo Case — Best for large gear loads that need a documented seal
Strengths: 140 liters of stated capacity for large gear loads [S4], a roto-molded polyethylene body [S4], an EPDM O-ring gasket described as weatherproof and dustproof [S4], and e-coated steel latches described as corrosion-resistant [S4]. Add molded-in tie-down plates, lay-flat spring-loaded handles, stated stackability with other Pelican Cargo Series cases, and a Made in the USA claim [S4].
Limitations to know: the Roof Cargo Mount Kit is sold separately [S4], and the supplied listing does not state interior dimensions, so verify length and depth against your gear with Pelican's own figures. No load rating appears in the supplied listing either.
Which Should You Buy?
- You are fitting one awkward, long item. Go BX90R. The listed 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior [S3] is the only stated internal measurement between these two, and shape beats volume when a single item decides the purchase.
- You are hauling bulk soft gear — duffels, bedding, camp kit. Go BX140. 140 liters is listed as ideal for large gear loads [S4], and bulky soft goods fill volume better than they respect a footprint.
- You care most about weather and dust exposure. The BX140 is the better-documented choice, with its EPDM O-ring gasket claimed as weatherproof and dustproof [S4] versus the BX90R's broader weather resistant description [S3].
- You want to run two cases side by side or stacked. The BX140 listing explicitly claims stackability with other Pelican Cargo Series cases [S4]; the supplied BX90R bullets do not address stacking.
- You have a tight, low-clearance rack or a roof weight limit you are already close to. Neither listing states a weight, so resolve this with your vehicle and rack manufacturers first, then buy the case that fits inside those limits.
How We Research
This website does not do hands-on testing. For this comparison we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each ASIN on 11 September 2026 and read every published listing feature bullet for both cases line by line, then compared only like-for-like attributes: stated capacity, stated construction, sealing description, hardware description and mounting requirements.
Where one listing names an attribute the other does not, we say so rather than scoring the quieter listing as worse. Load ratings, warranty terms and full exterior dimensions are not present in the supplied records for either case, so we do not estimate them.
Final Verdict
Honestly, this is not a close contest on documentation — the BX140's listing is simply more forthcoming, naming a roto-molded polyethylene body, an EPDM O-ring gasket, e-coated steel latches, stackability and 140 liters of capacity [S4]. If you are shopping on spec-sheet confidence and you need volume, that is the one to look at: Check Price on Amazon.
But the BX90R holds the one number a lot of buyers actually need. A stated 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior [S3] answers "will my stuff fit" in a way a liter count cannot, and that makes it the smarter pick when a specific long item is the whole reason you are buying a case: Check Price on Amazon.
Whichever you pick, the mount is a separate purchase on both [S3][S4] — and the case's capacity tells you nothing about what your roof is rated to carry. Confirm that first.
For more on matching hard cases to crossbars, see our guide to roof rack cargo box fit and our overview of truck bed cargo storage.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much can each case carry? Neither supplied listing publishes a weight rating. Capacity figures describe space, not load. Get weight limits from Pelican, your rack maker and your vehicle manufacturer.
Which one is more waterproof? Only the BX140 listing names a sealing mechanism, an EPDM O-ring gasket described as weatherproof and dustproof [S4]. The BX90R is described as weather resistant [S3]. No IP rating appears for either.
Can I stack these cases? The BX140 listing states it is stackable with other Pelican Cargo Series cases [S4]. The supplied BX90R bullets do not mention stacking, which is not the same as ruling it out.
Will the BX90R fit in a truck bed? Its listing describes it as suited to a roof rack or truck bed [S3]. Check the stated 36" x 20" x 11.5" interior [S3] plus Pelican's exterior figures against your bed width between the wheel wells.
Where are they made? The BX140 listing carries a Made in the USA claim [S4]. The supplied BX90R bullets do not state a country of manufacture.
What should I verify before buying either? Crossbar spread and rack rating, your vehicle's roof load limit, the correct mount kit for your setup, and the case's own weight — then add cargo weight under each limit. US consumer protection guidance is a good general starting point for buyer rights [S2].
Sources & Methodology
No one at this website lifted, loaded, mounted, hosed down or drove with either of these cases; we run no lab and make no claim to have handled them. What we did do is read the Amazon Creators API verified product records for both ASINs and every published listing feature bullet, retrieved 11 September 2026, and compare them attribute by attribute — capacity, construction, sealing, hardware, mounting requirements — flagging where one listing names something the other simply doesn't.
That kind of reading is genuinely useful for hard cargo cases, because the purchase decision usually turns on published numbers: does the case seal, does it need a separate mount, and does your gear physically fit. It cannot tell you how either case behaves at highway speed or after three winters of road salt, and no supplied owner-feedback data was available here to stand in for that. For anything load-bearing, the manufacturer's own documentation is the authority.