As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Pick | Product | Why |
|---|---|---|
| More stated capacity and load headroom | Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell | Listing states 14 cu ft, 165 lbs capacity, ABS and PC construction |
| Published dimensions and a stated warranty | TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys | Listing states 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H, ~24.25 lbs, 3-Year Warranty |
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Two budget hard shell roof boxes, two very similar pitches: dual-side opening, lockable lid, ABS shell, aerodynamic profile. The differences that actually matter to a buyer are buried in the fine print of the compatibility bullets, and that is where this comparison lives.
This page is a specifications comparison. Nobody here installed, loaded or drove with either box — everything below comes from the supplied Amazon product records and their published feature bullets, read closely.
- Perfect for Road Trip---Take the cargo box to the park, the beach, the sports field, or any place you need to store. Works on all vehicles with rack, suitable for cars, vans
- 14 Cubic Feet Cargo Box ---With the large capacity, the roof cargo box can help you securely carry 14 cubic feet worth of essentials, can increase vehicle cargo space without
- DUAL-SIDE OPENING FOR EASY ACCESS: Dual-side opening design allows you to open it from either the driver side or the passenger side, which brings more convenience for loading and
- FAIR CAPACITY: With 13.4 cubic feet maximum storage capacity and 150lbs loading capacity, the roof cargo carrier can allow for more space in your car. What’s more, its streamlined
Quick Answer
If your crossbars are on the wide side or your load is heavier, the Goplus is the one whose published numbers give you more headroom: the listing states 14 cubic feet, a 165 lbs load capacity, an ABS and PC shell, and compatibility with racks 17" to 22.8" wide where the crossbar is less than 3.1 inches wide and less than 1.0 inches thick.
If you want a box whose exterior footprint you can check against your own roof before buying, and a stated warranty, the TUFFIOM is the more transparent listing: it publishes outside dimensions of 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H, 13.4 cubic feet, 150 lbs load capacity, an approximate weight of 24.25 lbs, and a 3-Year Warranty.
Neither of these is a blowout. They are separated by half a cubic foot, 15 lbs of stated load rating, and a different way of describing crossbar fit.
Full Comparison Table
| Feature | Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening | TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys |
|---|---|---|
| Stated capacity | 14 cubic feet | 13.4 cubic feet |
| Stated load capacity | 165 lbs | 150 lbs |
| Shell material (as listed) | ABS and PC | ABS |
| External dimensions | Not stated in the supplied listing information | 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H |
| Product weight | Not stated in the supplied listing information | Approximately 24.25 lbs |
| Opening | Dual-side opening | Dual-side opening |
| Locking | Double-lock design, security key | Locks on both sides, keys included |
| Crossbar fit (as listed) | Racks 17" to 22.8" wide; crossbar under 3.1" wide and under 1.0" thick | Crossbar max width 2.36"; mounting hole spacing 15.35" to 40.94" |
| Reinforcement | Metal lid stiffeners at the bottom | Stiffeners at the bottom |
| Warranty | Not stated in the supplied listing information | 3-Year Warranty |
| Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Design & Build Quality
Here's the first real difference. Goplus describes its shell as manufactured from ABS and PC material, while TUFFIOM describes its box as made from ABS material. On paper that is a materials difference, not a proven durability difference — neither listing supplies an impact, UV or cold-weather test result, so treat it as a spec distinction rather than a verdict.
Both listings address lid sag the same way. Goplus states that metal lid stiffeners at the bottom make the roof box more stable and safer; TUFFIOM states that stiffeners at the bottom of the box strengthen its stability. TUFFIOM's bullet does not specify the stiffener material, so the two are not directly comparable on that point.
The TUFFIOM listing publishes a full exterior envelope of 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H. That is genuinely useful: you can hold those numbers against your roof length, your rear hatch swing and your garage clearance before ordering. The supplied Goplus record does not state exterior dimensions, which means you cannot do that same pre-purchase check from the listing alone.
One caveat worth stating plainly: external dimensions are the outside of the shell, not confirmed usable internal space. A 61-inch-long box does not guarantee a 61-inch ski or a 61-inch duffel fits inside it.
Check Price on Amazon for the TUFFIOM.
Features & Functionality
Dual-side opening is common ground. Goplus offers dual-sided opening for access from either side of the vehicle, and TUFFIOM offers the same driver-or-passenger-side access. If you park tight against a curb or a garage wall, either box solves the same problem.
Goplus attaches an operating instruction to that feature that buyers should read before ordering: the listing says not to open the openings on both sides at the same time, and that the key can only be removed once the cover is closed and locked. The second half of that is arguably a safety feature — a key you can't pocket while the lid is unlatched is a built-in reminder.
On mounting hardware, Goplus states the box comes equipped with 4 quick connect anchors for installation, plus a super latch to secure the lid to its base. TUFFIOM instead leans on weight: the listing describes the box as simple in structure and light in weight at approximately 24.25 lbs, arguing it won't be difficult to lift onto a car. Honestly, "approximately 24.25 lbs" is still an awkward, bulky object to hoist over your head alone — a stated weight is not an established one-person lift, and neither listing claims solo installation is safe on every vehicle.
Security is a near-tie on the page. Goplus lists a double-lock design and a security key; TUFFIOM lists locks on both sides with keys included. Neither listing supplies a lock standard or theft-resistance rating, so do not read either as a substitute for not leaving valuables in a roof box.
Warranty is where TUFFIOM pulls clear. Its listing states 3-Year Warranty protection. The supplied Goplus record does not state a warranty length — that is a gap in the listing information provided here, not proof that Goplus publishes none elsewhere.
Performance
Neither manufacturer publishes a drag coefficient, noise figure, fuel-economy penalty or waterproofing standard in the supplied bullets, so any "quieter" claim here would be invented. What both do claim is a streamlined shape intended to reduce drag and noise — Goplus calls it a sleek aerodynamic design, TUFFIOM a streamlined design. Those are seller descriptions, not measured results.
The load ratings are the concrete performance numbers. Goplus rates its box at 165 lbs; TUFFIOM rates its box at 150 lbs. That 15 lbs gap is real but modest — roughly one extra checked-bag's worth of gear at the margin.
And here's the thing most buyers miss: the box's own rating is only one of several limits. Your vehicle's roof load limit, your crossbar's rated capacity and your rack manufacturer's spec each apply independently, and the weight of the empty carrier counts against the ones that include it. TUFFIOM's approximately 24.25 lbs comes out of your roof allowance before a single bag goes in; the Goplus record does not state its weight, so you would need that figure from the manufacturer to do the same arithmetic. Never treat a carrier's cargo rating as permission to exceed the roof rating.
On capacity, 14 cubic feet versus 13.4 cubic feet is a difference of 0.6 cubic feet — around four percent. Real, but not the reason to choose.
Weather Protection
Both listings claim protection from the elements. Goplus says the box is designed to withstand heavy use in different types of weather conditions and protects contents from exposure to the elements. TUFFIOM says its ABS shell protects luggage or equipment from sun, rain or dust.
Neither supplies an ingress-protection rating or a sealing standard. "Waterproof" appears in both product titles as a marketing descriptor, and a marketing descriptor is not a verified seal test. Pack anything moisture-sensitive in a dry bag regardless of which box you buy.
Fit & Compatibility
This is the single most important section, and the two listings describe fit in genuinely different ways.
Goplus specifies racks 17" to 22.8" wide, with crossbars less than 3.1 inches wide and less than 1.0 inches thick, and states suitability for round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars.
TUFFIOM specifies a maximum crossbar width of 2.36", with a maximum distance between the bottom mounting holes of 40.94" and a minimum of 15.35".
Numbered checklist before you buy either:
- Measure your crossbar width (front to back) and, for the Goplus, its thickness.
- Measure your crossbar spacing centre to centre and compare it against the relevant listed range.
- Check your vehicle manufacturer's roof load limit and your rack's own rated capacity.
- Subtract the empty carrier weight from the allowance under every limit that includes it.
- Confirm rear-hatch and garage clearance against the box's external length and height.
Price & Value
Both sit in the budget hard shell roof box bracket rather than the premium clamshell tier, and pricing on Amazon moves. Check the current price on both before deciding: Check Price on Amazon for the Goplus and Check Price on Amazon for the TUFFIOM.
On value per published spec, the case splits cleanly. Goplus gives you more stated volume and 15 lbs more stated load rating. TUFFIOM gives you a published exterior size, a published product weight and a stated 3-Year Warranty — three things that reduce buying risk before the box ever arrives.
Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening — Best for wider crossbars and heavier loads
The Goplus listing is the more generous one on the two headline numbers. It states 14 cubic feet of capacity and a 165 lbs load capacity, and describes the shell as sturdy ABS and PC material suitable for round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars. If your crossbars are chunky — up to 3.1 inches wide and 1.0 inches thick per the listing — this is the box whose published tolerance accommodates them.
Installation is described as 4 quick connect anchors plus a super latch securing the lid to the base.
Strengths
- Highest stated capacity of the two at 14 cubic feet
- Highest stated load rating of the two at 165 lbs
- ABS and PC shell, with metal lid stiffeners called out specifically
- Wider listed crossbar tolerance: under 3.1" wide, under 1.0" thick
- The supplied listing information does not state external dimensions or product weight, so you cannot pre-check garage clearance or roof-load arithmetic from it
- No warranty length is stated in the supplied listing information
- The listing instructs that both side openings must not be opened at the same time
TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys — Best for buyers who need to verify fit and want a stated warranty
The TUFFIOM listing trades a little capacity for a lot more disclosure. You get 13.4 cubic feet and a 150 lbs load capacity, but you also get exterior dimensions of 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H, an approximate weight of 24.25 lbs, an explicit mounting-hole range of 15.35" to 40.94", and 3-Year Warranty coverage.
For anyone with a short-roof hatchback, a low garage, or a rear hatch that swings high, those published numbers are worth more than half a cubic foot.
Strengths
- Publishes full exterior dimensions: 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H
- Publishes product weight at approximately 24.25 lbs
- Stated 3-Year Warranty
- Explicit mounting-hole spacing range of 15.35" to 40.94"
- Locks on both sides with keys included
- Lower stated capacity (13.4 cu ft) and load rating (150 lbs) than the Goplus
- Narrower listed crossbar tolerance at a maximum width of 2.36"
- Listing notes a protective film on the lid that must be peeled off before use
Which Should You Buy?
You have thick factory or aerodynamic crossbars. Go Goplus. Its listed tolerance of under 3.1 inches wide and under 1.0 inches thick is the more accommodating of the two published figures, and it names round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars.
You are packing close to the carrier's limit. Goplus again, on the strength of its 165 lbs stated rating versus 150 lbs — but only after you confirm your vehicle roof limit and rack rating separately.
You have a small car, a low garage, or a tight rear hatch. TUFFIOM. Its published 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H envelope lets you measure before you commit instead of after.
You care about after-sale coverage. TUFFIOM, which states 3-Year Warranty protection. The supplied Goplus record does not state a warranty term.
You will be lifting the box on and off frequently, alone. TUFFIOM is the only one of the two with a published weight (approximately 24.25 lbs), so it is the only one you can plan around. That still isn't a recommendation to lift it solo.
If your crossbars fall inside both sets of numbers and none of the above tips the scale, this is close enough that current price should decide it.
How We Research
This website does not perform hands-on or laboratory testing of any product. For this comparison, we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product records for both ASINs on 2026-09-11 and read every published listing feature bullet side by side, then compared only like-for-like attributes: stated capacity, stated load rating, stated materials, locking description, crossbar tolerance and warranty.
Where one listing publishes a figure the other does not — exterior dimensions, product weight, warranty length — we say so rather than filling the gap from memory. A missing field means the supplied listing information does not state it, not that the value is zero or that the manufacturer never publishes it anywhere.
For general guidance on vehicle cargo safety and consumer rights, CPSC and USA.gov consumer protection are the appropriate authorities.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Goplus listing states 14 cubic feet and the TUFFIOM listing states 13.4 cubic feet, so the Goplus is the larger of the two by 0.6 cubic feet on published figures. That is about a four percent difference and unlikely to decide a packing list on its own.
Can I put 165 lbs on my roof because the Goplus is rated for it?
No. The Goplus listing states a 165 lbs load capacity for the carrier, but your vehicle's roof load limit and your crossbar's rated capacity are separate limits that apply at the same time, and the weight of the empty carrier counts against the ones that include it. Always use the lowest applicable figure from your vehicle and rack manufacturers.
Will either box fit my crossbars?
Measure first. Goplus lists compatibility with racks 17" to 22.8" wide where the crossbar is under 3.1 inches wide and under 1.0 inches thick; TUFFIOM lists a maximum crossbar width of 2.36" with mounting-hole distances from 15.35" to 40.94". One matching measurement does not confirm full fit — check every dimension against the listing and contact the manufacturer if anything is ambiguous.
Are these boxes actually waterproof?
Both product titles use "waterproof" as a descriptor, and the bullets claim protection from the elements — TUFFIOM specifically names sun, rain and dust. Neither supplied listing provides an ingress-protection rating or a sealing test standard, so treat the claim as a seller description and pack moisture-sensitive items accordingly.
Which one comes with a warranty?
The TUFFIOM listing states a 3-Year Warranty. The supplied Goplus listing information does not state a warranty length, which means it was not published in the record reviewed here rather than that no coverage exists.
How much does each box weigh empty?
TUFFIOM states approximately 24.25 lbs. The supplied Goplus record does not state a product weight, so you would need that figure from the manufacturer before calculating your remaining roof allowance.
Can I drive with one side open if I'm loading at a rest stop?
No. Both boxes offer dual-side opening for loading convenience, and the Goplus listing additionally instructs that both openings must not be opened at the same time and that its key only releases once the cover is closed and locked. Never drive with a lid open or unlatched.
Final Verdict
If I had to pick one on published specification alone, it is the TUFFIOM 13.4 cu.ft. Rooftop Cargo Box w/Keys — not because it is bigger, because it isn't, but because it tells you more before you buy. Exterior dimensions of 61" L x 27.6" W x 13.8" H, an approximate 24.25 lbs weight, an exact mounting-hole range and a stated 3-Year Warranty collectively remove more purchase risk than 0.6 extra cubic feet and 15 extra pounds of rating add. Check Price on Amazon
That flips if your crossbars are thick. The Goplus tolerance of under 3.1 inches wide beats TUFFIOM's 2.36 inches maximum, and if your bars measure in between, the decision is made for you — buy the Goplus and stop reading. Check Price on Amazon
Either way, confirm your vehicle roof limit and rack rating before your gear goes up there. That number, not the box's, is the one that governs.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page came from putting a box on a roof. This website runs no lab and did no physical or laboratory testing of either carrier; what we did was retrieve the Amazon Creators API verified product records for ASIN B07K75WXYJ and ASIN B09VPLFKKM on 2026-09-11 and work line by line through their published listing feature bullets, comparing only attributes both manufacturers actually publish.
For hard shell roof boxes that method goes a long way, because the decisions that matter most — crossbar tolerance, mounting-hole spacing, stated load rating, exterior envelope — are all published numbers you can check against your own vehicle with a tape measure. Confirm fit and load limits with your vehicle and rack manufacturers before purchase.