Garvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo Carrier - 69(L) x33(W) x11(H) Waterproof Lockable Storage Box Capacity 165 Lbs 17 Cu Ft - Tool-Free Install- Fits SUV, Truck, Van vs GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage

Garvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo Carrier - 69(L) x33(W) x11(H) Waterproof Lockable Storage Box Capacity 165 Lbs 17 Cu Ft - Tool-Free Install- Fits SUV, Truck, Van vs GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage

Updated October 2026

Garvee vs GarveeTech rooftop cargo box, compared on published specs: 17 cu ft vs 12 cu ft, dimensions, 165 lb load ratin...

11 min read

As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

PickProductWhy
Most published volumeGarvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo CarrierListing states 17 cu ft in a 69"L x 33"W x 11"H shell. Check Price on Amazon
Tallest published heightGarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box CarrierListing states a 13.4" height in both listed lengths. Check Price on Amazon
Stated warrantyGarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box CarrierListing states a one-year warranty; the Garvee listing supplied here does not state a warranty length.

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.
GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage
GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage
$415.99price read from Amazon at publish time
  • 【DURABLE CONSTRUCTION】Crafted from high-quality ABS material, the hard shell rooftop cargo box ensures long-lasting durability. Its waterproof and UV-resistant design protects
  • 【SPACIOUS 12/14 CUBIC FEET STORAGE】With dimensions of 54.3"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H/62.2"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H, the rooftop cargo box offers 12 cubic feet (340L) of extra storage space
Feature bullets above are Amazon's own product data.
Amazon listing, priced $415.99 at the time this page was published. (generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications)
Check price on Amazon

Quick Answer

Here's the short version: these two boxes are separated by shape, not by load rating. Amazon's listing for the Garvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo Carrier publishes a 17 cu ft capacity in a 69"L x 33"W x 11"H shell — long, wide, comparatively shallow. Amazon's listing for the GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier publishes 12 cubic feet (340L) with dimensions of 54.3"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H or 62.2"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H — shorter overall but 2.4 inches taller at the published height.

Both listings state the same 165 lb maximum load. So if your packing problem is duffels, camp chairs and long gear, the Garvee 17 cu ft figure and 69-inch published length is the one to look at. If your roof is short, your garage is tight, or you stack bulkier single items, the taller published height on the GarveeTech box is the more interesting number.

Check Price on Amazon for the Garvee box, or Check Price on Amazon for the GarveeTech box.

Full Comparison Table

FeatureGarvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo CarrierGarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier
Stated capacity17 cu ft12 cubic feet (340L); bullet headline also reads "12/14 CUBIC FEET"
Stated dimensions69"L x 33"W x 11"H54.3"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H / 62.2"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H
Stated max load165 lb165 lb
Shell materialRugged ABS plastic with UV-resistant black coatingHigh-quality ABS, waterproof and UV-resistant design
OpeningDual-sided access, lockable with included security keysDual-sided opening; includes 2 keys and 2 straps
Bar compatibilityRound, square and factory roof barsAll vehicles equipped with a roof rack; verify roof rack fitting guidelines before purchase
InstallTool-free installation system; includes all hardware and instructionsNot stated in the supplied listing information
WarrantyNot stated in the supplied listing informationOne-year warranty
PriceCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on Amazon

Design & Build Quality

Both listings describe an ABS hard shell. Garvee's listing calls it rugged ABS plastic with a UV-resistant black coating and says it is waterproof; GarveeTech's listing calls it high-quality ABS with a waterproof and UV-resistant design. On the material description alone there is nothing to separate them — and a material name in a listing bullet is not a weather-performance result, so treat both claims as seller statements rather than verified durability data.

The geometry is where the real difference sits. The Garvee box is published at 69 inches long and 33 inches wide but only 11 inches tall. The GarveeTech box is published at either 54.3 or 62.2 inches long, 31.5 inches wide, and 13.4 inches tall. That is a genuine design fork: a low, stretched profile versus a stubbier, deeper one.

One inference worth making explicitly: external dimensions are not usable internal space. Wall thickness, lid curvature and the mounting channel all eat into it, and neither supplied listing publishes an internal measurement. If you are buying to fit a specific item — skis, a stroller, a long tent pole bag — confirm the internal length with the manufacturer before you buy, not after.

Preferred option: not established by the supplied data. These are two shapes, not two quality tiers.

Features & Functionality

Both boxes open from either side. Garvee's listing describes dual-sided access with included security keys and a reinforced hard-shell design. GarveeTech's listing describes a dual-sided opening system with 2 keys and 2 straps included, and adds an operating instruction that matters: ensure one side is locked when opening the other side.

That single sentence is more useful than most marketing copy on either page. It tells you the lid is only structurally captive when one side stays latched, which is exactly the discipline you want at a gas station in the wind.

Installation is the clearest written gap. Garvee's listing states a tool-free installation system, says it includes all hardware and clear instructions, and lists compatibility with round, square and factory roof bars. The supplied GarveeTech listing does not state an installation method or bar-profile list; it says the box is compatible with all vehicles equipped with a roof rack and tells buyers to verify compatibility against roof rack fitting guidelines first. A missing field is not proof of a harder install — it is simply unstated here.

Preferred option for documented fitment detail: the Garvee box, because its listing names round, square and factory bars specifically. Confirm your actual crossbar spread and bar width with the manufacturer regardless.

Performance

Both listings state a 165 lb maximum load, so neither box wins on capacity-to-weight. Both describe an aerodynamic shape: Garvee's listing says it reduces wind drag and noise, GarveeTech's says the shape reduces fuel consumption and noise. Neither claim comes with a published figure, so read them as design intent, not a quantified economy number.

The practical performance question is roof load, and it has nothing to do with which box is better. A carrier's 165 lb rating is the carrier's own limit. Your vehicle's roof rating and your crossbar's dynamic load rating are separate limits, and the box's own empty weight counts against both — neither supplied listing states that empty weight. Check your owner's manual and your rack maker's rating, then subtract the carrier weight before you plan cargo.

The 17 cu ft versus 12 cu ft difference also changes how quickly you hit 165 lb. Honestly, with a bigger box the volume runs out later than the weight does, which is how people end up overloaded without noticing.

Price & Value

Current pricing moves, so check both listings directly: Check Price on Amazon for the Garvee carrier and Check Price on Amazon for the GarveeTech carrier.

On stated value terms: the Garvee listing gives you more published volume and a documented tool-free install with hardware and instructions included. The GarveeTech listing gives you a stated one-year warranty and a specified accessory count of 2 keys and 2 straps. Those are different kinds of value, and which one is worth more depends on whether you care more about cubic feet or about a written warranty term.

Garvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo Carrier - 69(L) x33(W) x11(H) Waterproof Lockable Storage Box Capacity 165 Lbs 17 Cu Ft - Tool-Free Install- Fits SUV, Truck, Van — Best for long roofs and bulk-volume family trips

The pitch is straightforward: 17 cu ft at 69"L x 33"W x 11"H, with a stated 165 lb weight capacity. The listing frames it for camping trips, family vacations and hauling gear to parks, beaches and sports fields, and says it is compatible with round, square and factory roof bars.

Strengths

Limitations Check Price on Amazon

GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage — Best for shorter roofs and taller loads

This one publishes 12 cubic feet (340L) with a 165 lb maximum capacity, offered at 54.3"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H or 62.2"L x 31.5"W x 13.4"H. Note the wrinkle: the bullet headline reads "12/14 CUBIC FEET" while the same bullet's body states 12 cubic feet (340L). That is unresolved listing wording, and I would ask the manufacturer which volume corresponds to which length before buying on volume alone.

Strengths

Limitations Check Price on Amazon

Which Should You Buy?

How We Research

This website does not do product research, and nobody here mounted, loaded or drove with either of these boxes. What we did was read both Amazon Creators API verified product records and every product listing feature bullet for ASIN B0G657LVF8 and ASIN B0G11Y9QC6, retrieved 11 September 2026, then compare the published numbers directly against each other — dimensions, capacity, load rating, opening design, included accessories and stated install method.

Where a listing does not publish a figure, we say so instead of guessing. For recall and consumer-safety background on products generally, the CPSC publishes consumer product safety information at cpsc.gov and USA.gov publishes consumer protection guidance at usa.gov.

Frequently Asked Questions

See the FAQ section below for the most common questions on capacity, fit, security and installation.

Final Verdict

If I had to commit: the Garvee Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof Top Cargo Carrier is the stronger buy for most SUV, truck and van owners, because it publishes 17 cu ft against the GarveeTech box's 12 cubic feet at the same stated 165 lb load, and its listing documents tool-free installation plus round, square and factory bar compatibility. More usable spec detail, more stated volume, same weight ceiling.

The GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier earns the pick in two specific situations — a roof that cannot take 69 inches of box, or loads that need the extra published height of 13.4 inches — and it is the only one of the two whose supplied listing states a warranty term.

Either way, confirm your vehicle's roof load rating, your crossbar rating and the carrier's fit with the manufacturer before ordering, and never drive with a side unlatched.

Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon

Sources & Methodology

No physical or laboratory testing took place for this page — this site does not run a test facility, and neither cargo box was handled, mounted or loaded here. The comparison is built entirely from the Amazon Creators API verified product records and the product listing feature bullets for both ASINs as retrieved on 11 September 2026, read line by line so that dimensions, stated volume, the shared 165 lb rating, opening design, included keys and straps, bar compatibility and warranty wording could be set side by side and the gaps named openly. For rooftop boxes that is a meaningful amount of decision-grade information, because fit and capacity are geometry problems you solve with published numbers and a tape measure — what it cannot tell you is long-term seal durability, real-world noise or how the latches age, which no listing bullet establishes.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/
USA.gov consumer protection

usa.gov

https://www.usa.gov/consumer-protection

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews