Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Last Updated: September 2026
Look, a cargo box review usually opens with a volume figure, an external length, and a load rating. This one can't, and pretending otherwise would be the fastest way to get a reader stuck in a parking lot with a box that doesn't clear their hatch. This website does not do hands-on testing. What follows is a close reading of the manufacturer-facing listing data available for the Thule Force 3 XXL US (ASIN B0DYQDJJ2V), an honest map of what that data proves, and a clear statement of what it leaves open.
Review at a Glance
| Product | Thule Force 3 XXL US |
|---|---|
| Price | |
| Best For | Buyers who have already confirmed fit and load limits with Thule and their vehicle manual, and who want a lockable, dual-side-opening box |
| Documented limitations | The supplied listing information does not state dimensions, cargo volume, weight, load capacity, material, warranty, or crossbar spread requirements |
- Offers durability and maintains a sleek appearance, designed to handle daily use and the demands of active lifestyles
- A quick, secure, and intuitive mounting system that indicates when the cargo box is safely attached with a simple click
Quick Picks
| Product | Why it's here | Link |
|---|---|---|
| Thule Force 3 XXL US | The only product with a supplied, verified listing record on this page; documented for SlideLock lid locking, dual-side opening and click-confirm mounting | Check Price on Amazon |
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The short version: the supplied record is a feature record, not a dimensional one. Every claim below comes from the Amazon listing bullets for this exact ASIN, retrieved 11 September 2026.
The first listing bullet claims durability and a sleek appearance designed to handle daily use and the demands of active lifestyles. That is marketing language, and it should be read as marketing language — it establishes intent, not a material, a UV rating, or a service life.
The listing states the box was extensively tested for road safety and durability in the Thule Test Center. Note the scope carefully. That is the brand's own in-house program, described by the brand's own retail listing. It is not an independent certification, not a named standard, and not a third-party lab result, and the supplied record does not name the protocols used or what a passing result meant.
Key Features and Specifications
Here's the thing about a box this size class: the features that matter are the ones you interact with in the dark, in the rain, with cold hands. Three of the five supplied bullets speak directly to that.
| Attribute | What the listing for Thule Force 3 XXL US states | What that does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Mounting | Quick, secure, intuitive system with a click that indicates safe attachment | No torque figures, crossbar width range, or bar-type compatibility list is supplied |
| Access | Opens from both sides of the vehicle | No opening angle, hinge count, or rear-hatch clearance figure is supplied |
| Locking | SlideLock with separate locking and opening functions; auto-locks the lid and indicates secure closure | Not a theft rating, and no key/lock-core detail is supplied |
| Testing | Extensively tested in the Thule Test Center | No independent certification, standard name or test result is supplied |
| Finish and build | Durable with a sleek appearance for daily use | No material, shell thickness, colour, or weight is supplied |
| Size and capacity | Not stated in the supplied listing information | Nothing here establishes external length, width, height, litres, or maximum load |
The SlideLock detail is the one worth slowing down for
The SlideLock system is described as having separate locking and opening functions, automatically locking the lid in place and indicating when the box is closed securely. Separating those two functions is a meaningful design decision: on a single-function latch, turning the key and closing the lid are the same act, which is exactly how a lid ends up appearing shut while sitting proud of the seal. A separate closed-securely indicator is a reasonable inference that the design is aimed at that failure mode — though the supplied record does not describe how the indicator reports, or what it looks like when the lid is not fully seated.
Practical consequence, stated conditionally: if the indicator does not read as securely closed, that is a stop-and-check situation before the vehicle moves, not a drive-carefully situation. Never drive with a roof box that is open, unlatched, or not confirmed closed, and follow Thule's own instructions for the exact model rather than any generic latch advice.
Dual-side access
The listing also credits the box with dual-side opening, giving access to cargo from both sides of the vehicle. The inference a shopper cares about: on a long box, dual-side access means you can load from the kerb rather than from the traffic side, and you can reach gear that has migrated to the far edge without walking around or climbing. Whether the lid clears a raised rear hatch or a garage door is a vehicle-specific clearance question the supplied record cannot answer.
Thule Force 3 XXL vs XL vs L: What This Page Can and Cannot Tell You
This is the question most people arrive with, so here is the straight answer: the supplied product record covers only the Thule Force 3 XXL US. It contains no dimensions, no volume, no weight and no load rating for the XXL, and it contains no record at all for the XL, L, M or any other size. That means this page cannot rank the sizes, cannot tell you how much longer one is than another, and cannot tell you which one fits a particular roof.
Anything you read that does supply those numbers without a manufacturer source is worth treating with suspicion. Get the size grid from Thule's own published specifications and fit guide for your exact vehicle, roof-rack system and crossbar spread.
A size decision on a cargo box is never just about the box, either. Four separate limits apply at the same time, and each one has its own definition:
- The vehicle's roof load limit, from the vehicle manufacturer's manual — usually a dynamic limit that includes the rack, the box and the cargo.
- The roof rack or crossbar load limit, from the rack maker.
- The cargo box's own maximum load, from Thule — not stated in the supplied listing information for this model.
- The vehicle's overall payload and height clearance, which the roof load does not replace.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
I'll be blunt about the limits of this section. Aerodynamic behaviour, wind noise, fuel-economy impact, weather sealing in sustained rain and snow, and lid stiffness under load are all performance questions, and none of them can be established from five feature bullets. The supplied listing information states no drag figure, no ingress-protection rating and no wind-noise claim, so this page asserts none.
What can be said is narrower and more useful. Amazon's listing for the Thule Force 3 XXL US describes a mounting system the manufacturer calls quick, secure and intuitive, with a click that indicates the cargo box is safely attached. A click-confirm mount is a reasonable design answer to the most common user error on a roof box — under-tightened clamps — because it converts a judgement call into a binary signal. That is an inference from the described design, not a verified installation outcome, and it still assumes the box is mounted on a rack Thule approves for it.
Build Quality and Design
The supplied record does not name the shell material, wall thickness, hinge construction, seal type or finish options, so a genuine build-quality assessment is not available here. What the listing offers is a durability and appearance claim plus the in-house testing claim, and both are the manufacturer's own characterisation.
My read: the feature set described — a lid that locks itself, a closure indicator, and confirmation feedback at the mount — reads as a design aimed at reducing user error rather than chasing a spec-sheet number. That is a defensible priority for a box that lives above a windshield at motorway speed. It is also a design philosophy, not a measurement.
Value for Money
Check current price on Amazon, because a static page is the worst possible place to quote one. On value, the honest framing is this: you are paying for a documented locking and access system plus the manufacturer's testing programme, and you are buying without a published capacity or load figure in the record in front of you. That is a fine trade if you pull those numbers from Thule's specifications before you order, and a bad trade if you don't.
If you are still comparing carrier types rather than sizes, our guides to choosing a roof cargo box and roof box vs. hitch cargo carrier cover the structural trade-offs in more detail.
Who Should Buy This
Thule Force 3 XXL US — Best for lockable, dual-side loading once fit is confirmed
This suits the buyer who has already confirmed, with Thule's fit guide and their vehicle manual, that an XXL-length box clears their hatch and sits within every load limit — and who specifically wants the SlideLock arrangement, where the listing states separate locking and opening functions with an automatic lid lock and a secure-closure indication. If you load from the kerb side with kids or traffic nearby, the documented both-sides access is the feature doing real work.
Supported strengths
- Dual-side opening, per the listing
- SlideLock lid locking with a closed-securely indicator, per the listing
- Click-confirmation mounting feedback, per the listing
- The supplied listing information does not state dimensions, volume, weight or maximum load
- The testing claim is the manufacturer's own programme, not an independent certification
- No warranty length, material or vehicle-compatibility list appears in the supplied record
How We Research
This page was built by reading the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0DYQDJJ2V and each of its five product listing feature bullets, retrieved 11 September 2026, then separating what those bullets establish from what they merely imply. Nothing here was mounted, loaded, driven or measured. Where a specification is absent — capacity, dimensions, load rating, warranty — this review says so rather than filling the gap from memory, because a wrong number on a roof box is a safety problem, not a copy problem. For general US consumer safety information, including recall notices, the Consumer Product Safety Commission publishes at cpsc.gov, and broader consumer protection guidance is collected at usa.gov.
Final Verdict
The Thule Force 3 XXL US earns a conditional recommendation, and I want the condition stated as loudly as the recommendation. The documented feature set is genuinely the right one for a large cargo box: SlideLock with separate locking and opening functions, a secure-closure indication, both-sides access, and a mount that clicks when it is attached. Those are user-error-resistant design choices, and they are the sort of thing worth paying for on a component that rides over your windshield.
But the supplied record stops short of the numbers that decide fit. Do not order an XXL on vibes. Pull the dimensions, volume and maximum load from Thule's published specifications, check them against your vehicle's roof load limit and your rack's limit, confirm rear-hatch and garage clearance, and then buy. Do that homework and this is an easy yes for the dual-side-access buyer. Skip it and the size on the box is the least of your problems.
Frequently Asked Questions
The supplied listing information for ASIN B0DYQDJJ2V does not state the box's external dimensions or cargo volume. That means this page cannot give you a figure. Consult Thule's published specifications for the Force 3 XXL and its vehicle fit guide before ordering.
How does the Force 3 XXL compare with the XL and L?
No product record was supplied for the XL, L or any other Force 3 size, and no dimensional data was supplied for the XXL either, so no size comparison can be made here without inventing numbers. Thule's own size grid is the correct source.
Can I open the Thule Force 3 XXL from both sides?
Yes — the Amazon listing states it provides access to cargo from both sides of the vehicle. Whether the lid clears your specific rear hatch or garage door is a separate clearance question the listing does not address.
What is SlideLock and why does it matter?
SlideLock is described in the listing as a system with separate locking and opening functions that automatically locks the lid and indicates when the box is closed securely. Separating those functions is aimed at the classic failure where a lid looks shut but is not seated. If the indicator does not show a secure closure, stop and consult Thule's instructions for the model before driving.
How much weight can the Thule Force 3 XXL carry?
No maximum load figure appears in the supplied listing information. Even once you have Thule's number, it is only one of several limits — your vehicle's roof load limit and your crossbar or rack limit apply at the same time and are each defined differently. Consult your vehicle manual, your rack maker's manual and Thule's instructions, and deduct the weight of the rack and the empty carrier from the vehicle's dynamic roof load limit before comparing what remains with the other limits. Vehicle payload is never a substitute for a carrier's own rating.
Is the Thule Test Center claim an independent certification?
No. The listing states the box was extensively tested for road safety and durability in the Thule Test Center, which is the manufacturer's own programme described on its own retail listing. The supplied record names no external standard, lab or certification.
Will it fit my roof rack?
The supplied record does not include a crossbar compatibility range or a vehicle fit list, so fit cannot be confirmed here. Check Thule's fit guide for your vehicle, rack system and crossbar spread, and confirm the mounting hardware included with the box covers your setup.
Sources and Methodology
Nothing on this page came from a workshop, a roof, or a highway — this website runs no physical or laboratory testing, and it says so on every review. What sits behind this article is a line-by-line reading of the Amazon Creators API verified product record and the five product listing feature bullets published for the Thule Force 3 XXL US on 11 September 2026, with each claim traced back to the exact bullet that supports it and each silence reported as a silence. For a roof cargo box, that level of evidence is enough to judge the locking, access and mounting design the manufacturer is advertising, and deliberately not enough to settle capacity, fit or load — which is why this review sends you to Thule's specifications and your vehicle manual before it sends you to a checkout.