As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Price |
|---|---|---|
| StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Largest stated enclosed volume, with rear access preserved | |
| Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell | Getting bags off the cargo floor via an existing crossbar rack | |
| MidWest Homes for Pets Solutions Series Large Side-by-Side SUV Dog Crate | Two dogs side by side in an SUV cargo area | |
| Ferplast Atlas Vehicle SUV Dog Crate | A 40-60 lb dog in an SUV or hatchback cargo bay | |
| Duckygoo SUV Cargo Liner for Dogs | Protecting the trunk your dog now owns |
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Here's the actual problem with a dog road trip: the dog needs floor space, and floor space is exactly what your duffels, cooler and food bin are sitting on. You can't solve that by packing tighter. You solve it by moving gear out of the cabin — onto the roof or behind the bumper — and then giving the reclaimed cargo area a proper containment and comfort setup.
This roundup covers both halves of that equation. On the gear side, there's a hitch-mounted box and a hard-shell roof box. On the dog side, there are SUV-specific crates, soft travel crates, barriers and cargo liners. Every specification quoted below comes from the product's own Amazon listing, retrieved 2026-09-11. This website does not do hands-on testing, so nothing here is presented as something we handled, weighed or drove with.
One thing to settle before you shop: a cargo box's stated volume and load rating are the carrier manufacturer's numbers. They do not tell you what your vehicle, roof rack or hitch receiver is rated to carry. Those are separate limits published by separate manufacturers, and the lowest one wins. Check your owner's manual and rack documentation before you load anything.
- MAXIMUM STORAGE & CAPACITY – 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space and a 200 lb load rating provide plenty of room for luggage, camping gear, or tools while keeping your vehicle
- FULL REAR ACCESS WITH SWINGAWAY FRAME – The StowAway Swingaway frame pivots completely to the side, giving unobstructed access to your rear doors, hatch, or tailgate without
Quick Comparison Table
| Product | Best For | Key published spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory | Hitch-mounted gear hauling | 16 cubic feet; 200 lb load rating | |
| Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening | Roof-mounted gear hauling | 14 cubic feet; 165 lb capacity | |
| MidWest Homes for Pets Solutions Series Large Side-by-Side SUV Dog Crate | Multi-dog SUV transport | 42.5 x 21 x 30 in; dogs up to 90 lbs | |
| Ferplast Atlas Vehicle SUV Dog Crate | Medium-large single dog | 39L x 23W x 26H in; 40-60 lb dogs | |
| Snagle Paw Portable Dog Crate for Car Travel | Back-seat crating | 26.8 x 23.6 x 24.8 in unfolded |
How the Two Halves Fit Together
A roof or hitch box does not make your dog safer by itself. What it does is free interior volume, which is the prerequisite for everything else on this page — a crate that actually fits, a bed your dog can stretch out on, a barrier with room behind it.
So read this list as a two-step build. Step one: pick an external carrier that matches your vehicle's mounting hardware. Step two: spend the reclaimed cargo bay on containment and comfort.
The Cargo Carriers
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory — Best for maximum stated volume without blocking your tailgate
Sixteen cubic feet of enclosed cargo space with a 200 lb load rating, per the manufacturer's listing [S4]. That's the largest capacity figure among the two carriers here, and it sits behind the vehicle rather than above it — which matters for anyone who'd rather not lift a duffel over their head or deal with a garage clearance problem.
The feature that earns this a spot on a dog page specifically is the Swingaway frame. The manufacturer says it pivots completely to the side, giving unobstructed access to your rear doors, hatch or tailgate without removing the carrier [S4]. Think about what that means on a real trip: your dog loads and unloads through the hatch a dozen times a day at rest stops, trailheads and motels. A fixed hitch box turns every one of those into a wrestling match. A swing-away doesn't.
StowAway describes the box as molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks, and lists a keyed locking latch, hitch tightener, reflectors and LED taillights [S4]. The company also states it's assembled in the Pacific Northwest using American-made components [S4]. Honestly, the taillights are an underrated detail — a hitch box sits directly in front of your factory lamps.
Pros
- 16 cubic feet of enclosed space, the largest stated capacity on this page [S4]
- 200 lb load rating published by the manufacturer [S4]
- Swingaway frame pivots aside for full hatch access without removing the carrier [S4]
- Keyed locking latch plus reflectors and LED taillights [S4]
- Impact-resistant polymer shell described as weather-resistant [S4]
- The 200 lb figure is the carrier's own rating. Your hitch receiver, your vehicle's tongue weight limit and the carrier's own installed weight are separate limits published elsewhere — the lowest applicable one governs, and the box's contents count against it.
- The supplied listing does not state the required receiver size, the box's own weight, or exterior dimensions, so confirm fit and clearance with StowAway before ordering.
Verdict: Buy this if you tow-hitch-equipped and you want the biggest published capacity here while keeping the hatch usable for a dog that gets in and out constantly — confirm your receiver and tongue-weight limits first.
Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening — Best for freeing cabin space on a vehicle that already has crossbars
Fourteen cubic feet, a 165 lb capacity, and a hard shell in ABS and PC material described by Goplus as protecting contents from the elements [S5]. If your dog crate is going to occupy the entire cargo bay, this is where the food bin, towels, crate pad and human luggage go.
The fit note is the part to read twice. Goplus states it's compatible with 17-inch to 22.8-inch wide racks, with crossbar width under 3.1 inches and thickness under 1.0 inch [S5]. That's a specific window — measure your crossbar spread and profile before you buy, because a roof box that doesn't clamp properly is not a roof box, it's a hazard. The listing says it suits round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars [S5], but the dimensional limits above are the actual gate.
Dual-side opening means you can load from whichever side of the vehicle you're standing on, which is genuinely useful when you're parked on a shoulder with a dog on a leash in your other hand. Goplus notes both openings should not be opened at the same time, and that the key only releases after the cover is closed and locked [S5]. That key-capture design is a small but smart anti-idiocy feature: you physically cannot drive off with the key in your hand and the lid unsecured. Never drive with a carrier lid open or unlatched regardless.
Goplus also cites metal lid stiffeners at the bottom for stability and a double-lock design, plus 4 quick-connect anchors for installation [S5].
Pros
- 14 cubic feet of enclosed capacity, enough to move bulky soft goods out of the cabin [S5]
- 165 lb stated load capacity [S5]
- Dual-side opening for loading from either side of the vehicle [S5]
- Double-lock design with a key that releases only when closed and locked [S5]
- Four quick-connect anchors for installation [S5]
- Requires an existing crossbar rack within the 17-inch to 22.8-inch spread and the stated bar profile limits [S5]. No rack, no install.
- The 165 lb capacity is the box's rating, not your roof's. Vehicle roof load limits are published by the automaker and typically include the carrier's own weight — check both.
- Loading the roof raises your vehicle's height. Garages, drive-throughs and low branches become your problem.
Verdict: The right pick if your SUV already wears crossbars in the stated size range and you want 14 cubic feet of weather-protected storage so the cargo floor can belong entirely to the dog [S5].
The In-Vehicle Dog Setup
MidWest Homes for Pets Solutions Series Large Side-by-Side SUV Dog Crate — Best for two dogs sharing an SUV cargo area
This one is built around a narrow footprint. MidWest lists it at approximately 42.5 x 21 x 30 inches, supporting dogs up to 90 lbs, and describes it as narrower than standard crates so two can sit side by side in a cargo area [S3]. That 21-inch width is the whole design argument — two of these is 42 inches across, which is the kind of number you should go measure against your own cargo bay right now.
The dual-door layout is the other genuinely travel-specific feature. Doors on both ends mean you can use the front door from the back seat and the rear door from the tailgate [S3]. If you've ever had to crawl over a folded seat to reach a crate latch, you understand why this matters more than it sounds.
MidWest specifies two slide-bolt latches per door, a leak-proof plastic pan, a rust-resistant black e-coat finish and a carrying handle [S3]. The leak-proof pan is the practical one for long drives — motion sickness and long stretches between stops are real. Note that the stated 42.5 x 21 x 30 inches are the crate's overall dimensions; usable interior space will be somewhat less, and the listing does not break out internal measurements.
Pros
- Narrow 21-inch width designed to let two crates fit side by side in a cargo area [S3]
- Supports dogs up to 90 lbs per the manufacturer [S3]
- Doors at both ends for back-seat and tailgate access [S3]
- Two slide-bolt latches per door [S3]
- Leak-proof plastic pan and rust-resistant black e-coat finish [S3]
- At 42.5 inches long and 30 inches tall, this needs a genuinely large cargo bay. Measure height under your hatch opening, not just floor area.
- The listing does not state a crash-test rating or any independent safety certification — treat it as containment and travel convenience, not certified crash protection.
Verdict: The clear choice for a two-dog household with a large SUV or van, because the 21-inch width is explicitly designed for side-by-side placement [S3].
Ferplast Atlas Vehicle SUV Dog Crate — Best for a single 40-60 lb dog in an SUV or hatchback
Ferplast publishes tight numbers here: 39 inches long, 23 wide, 26 high, with a doorway of 13.5W x 18.5H inches, aimed at dogs weighing 40 to 60 pounds [S6]. At 26 inches tall it's the shortest of the rigid crates listed on this page, which is the spec that decides whether a crate clears a sloping hatch. Ferplast explicitly tells buyers to measure the intended area before purchasing [S6] — take that seriously.
Ventilation gets real attention in the spec sheet: metal mesh at both the front and back of the crate plus vented side panels [S6]. For a dog riding behind a loaded cargo area where airflow from the cabin vents is already compromised, cross-ventilation front-to-back is more than a nice-to-have.
The door design is quietly clever. Ferplast says the front door includes a locking system and slides horizontally to open, saving space in the vehicle [S6]. A swinging door needs arc clearance inside an already tight hatch; a sliding one doesn't. Molded-in top handles and full disassembly for storage round it out, and Ferplast includes a 1-year manufacturer's warranty [S6].
Pros
- 26-inch height, the lowest published height among the rigid crates here, helping with sloped hatches [S6]
- Sized by the manufacturer for 40-60 lb dogs [S6]
- Front and rear metal mesh plus vented side panels for air circulation [S6]
- Horizontally sliding front door needs no swing clearance [S6]
- Fully dismantles for storage; 1-year manufacturer's warranty [S6]
- The 13.5 x 18.5-inch doorway is narrower than the crate itself; a deep-chested dog at the top of the weight range may find entry tight.
- Stated as ideal for 40-60 lb dogs [S6], so it's the wrong crate for a 90 lb shepherd.
Verdict: Best rigid crate here for a single medium-to-large dog when hatch height is your constraint, thanks to the 26-inch published height and the space-saving sliding door [S6].
Snagle Paw Portable Dog Crate for Car Travel — Best for crating a dog on the back seat instead of the cargo bay
Not every dog owner has a cargo bay to give up — sedan and crossover drivers included. This one is designed for the rear seat. Snagle Paw says it secures to the rear seat with the car seat belt, with two top adjustable straps attaching to front and rear headrests, plus an interior pet safety leash [S10]. That's three separate points of restraint described in the listing, which is a more serious anchoring story than a crate that just sits there.
Unfolded it measures 26.8L x 23.6W x 24.8H inches [S10] — the smallest footprint among the crates covered here, which is exactly the point on a bench seat. The frame is described as sturdy and non-collapsible metal, with the brackets folding into an included storage bag when not in use [S10].
The comfort and monitoring details are unusually thorough for a soft-sided crate: four scratch- and bite-resistant breathable mesh panels, a roll-up extra-large front door, roll-up top mesh, large access doors on both sides, and small feeding windows on each side so you can feed or reassure a dog without opening the crate [S10]. The bottom mat is removable and machine-washable, and the internal frame detaches so the fabric cover can be cleaned [S10]. Snagle Paw notes you should measure your car interior first [S10].
Pros
- Secures with the car seat belt plus two headrest straps and an interior safety leash [S10]
- Compact 26.8 x 23.6 x 24.8-inch unfolded footprint for back-seat use [S10]
- Four mesh panels described as scratch- and bite-resistant [S10]
- Side feeding windows let you feed without opening the crate [S10]
- Machine-washable mat and detachable frame for cleaning the cover [S10]
- No crash-test rating or independent safety certification is stated in the supplied listing.
- Described for medium to large dogs to turn around in [S10], but no maximum dog weight is given — so match it to your dog by measurement, not by label.
Verdict: The pick for drivers without a usable cargo bay, because it's the only crate here whose listing describes seat-belt plus dual-headrest anchoring on the rear seat [S10].
Lesure Portable Soft Collapsible Dog Crate for Large Dogs, 36in Light Grey — Best for a crate that travels beyond the car
This is the campsite-and-motel-room option. Lesure lists four zippered doors and four high-density mesh windows that roll up and secure with velcro for extra airflow [S7], so a dog can be crated in a tent vestibule, a rental, or a friend's spare room without you hauling a steel cage inside.
The travel-logistics touches are the reason to consider it over a rigid crate: a carrying handle, side pockets for treats, leashes and waste bags, and an elastic strap for a dog water bottle [S7]. Security comes from an interior leash attachment that clips to the collar, with heavy-duty locking zippers on the side doors [S7].
Cleaning is handled with waterproof PVC material that wipes down, and a removable, washable sherpa mattress [S7]. On cleanability alone that's a strong showing for soft-sided construction. Lesure sells it in multiple sizes and colors and tells buyers to check the size chart before purchasing [S7] — the model named here is the 36-inch light grey version.
Pros
- Four zippered doors and four roll-up mesh windows for ventilation and visibility [S7]
- Carrying handle, side pockets and a water bottle strap built in [S7]
- Interior safety leash attachment plus locking zippers on the side doors [S7]
- Wipe-clean waterproof PVC material with a removable, washable sherpa mattress [S7]
- Collapsible for storage when not in use [S7]
- Lesure describes the crate as escape-proof [S7], but that's the seller's claim and the listing states no independent verification. A determined chewer is a different animal than a calm traveler.
- No crash-test rating or vehicle anchoring system is described in the supplied listing, so treat it as a containment and rest space rather than a restraint.
Verdict: Get this if your dog needs a portable den at the destination as much as in the car — the handle, pockets, water bottle strap and washable mattress are built for that job [S7].
Petboda Dog Car Barrier for SUV Trunk Cargo Area, Foldable & Adjustable Car Divider and Cargo Gate to Keep Dogs in Back — Best for the no-crate approach in an SUV cargo bay
Some dogs travel better loose in the back with a barrier than shut in a box. Petboda's divider extends to 62 inches overall when fully extended, with a 35 x 16-inch main panel and two 15.5 x 16-inch side panels [S8]. It's designed to fit most SUVs, vans, jeeps and hatchbacks, with the important caveat that it mounts to back headrests only [S8] — so if your rear seats lack headrests, this is a non-starter.
Installation uses a slide-rail structure: pull the two side panels out to position, then bind the barrier to the rear headrest with the included bungee cords [S8]. Petboda states two tough bungee cords hold it tightly and that it won't shake even if a dog pushes against it [S8]. That's the manufacturer's claim, not an independently verified one, and the listing doesn't state a force rating.
It folds into an included carrying bag measuring 18 x 17.7 x 2.5 inches [S8], which means it lives in the garage between trips rather than permanently eating cargo height.
Pros
- Extends to 62 inches for wide cargo openings [S8]
- Slide-rail design with bungee mounting rather than tools [S8]
- Folds into a supplied 18 x 17.7 x 2.5-inch carrying bag [S8]
- Fits most SUVs, vans, jeeps and hatchbacks per the manufacturer [S8]
- Requires rear headrests to mount to [S8]. Check your seats before buying.
- The stability claim is the seller's own; no crash or load test data appears in the supplied listing.
- A 16-inch panel height is what's published — confirm it against the gap between your seat backs and headliner, since a barrier that doesn't reach the roof leaves a jump route.
Verdict: A sensible, storable choice for an SUV owner whose dog rides loose in back and whose rear seats have headrests to anchor to [S8].
Dog Barrier for Car Back Seat & Cargo Area with Wider Coverage, Universal Fit for Car, SUV & Truck — Best for blocking front-seat access while keeping sightlines
This one attacks a different problem: the dog that climbs into the front seat. The seller describes scratch- and chew-resistant mesh on a reinforced steel frame, positioned to stop pets from getting forward and to block distractions like pawing and sudden jumps [S9].
The headline feature is visibility. The listing describes the mesh as 90% transparent so you can monitor pets through the rearview mirror without blind spots, while letting an anxious dog see you [S9]. It also claims the lightweight net won't block airflow from rear AC vents [S9] — worth noting on a summer trip where your dog is riding in the back with the cargo area packed.
Setup is described as tool-free in about three minutes: straps attach to headrests or seat frames with buckles, and the barrier repositions or removes in seconds when you carry passengers [S9]. The seller says it can deploy either in the back seat to block front access or in the cargo area to create a roaming zone, with extended floor-to-ceiling coverage and console gap blockers [S9].
Pros
- Dual-zone design usable behind the front seats or in the cargo area [S9]
- Mesh described as 90% transparent for rearview monitoring [S9]
- Reinforced steel frame with scratch- and chew-resistant mesh [S9]
- Tool-free buckle installation to headrests or seat frames [S9]
- Console gap blockers to close the front-seat squeeze route [S9]
- The "30% wider than conventional barrier" and "indestructible" language is marketing copy from the seller [S9]; the supplied listing gives no actual dimensions, so you cannot check it against your vehicle's width. Confirm sizing with the manufacturer before ordering.
- The customer quote in the listing is seller-published promotional material, not independent evidence.
Verdict: Worth considering if your main issue is a dog crossing into the front seat and you want to keep rearview visibility and rear vent airflow [S9].
Duckygoo SUV Cargo Liner for Dogs, Waterproof-Coated Dog Trunk Cover, Large — Best for full trunk protection under a big dog
Once the roof box takes your luggage, the cargo floor becomes a dog bed. Duckygoo's large liner covers five sides — trunk floor, side walls, rear seat back and bumper area — to cut down on hair, dust, paw prints and dirt [S12].
The construction spec that separates this from a thin cargo mat: a 2-inch orthopedic memory foam base, plus two 6-inch foam side bolsters that can stand upright as soft boundaries during turns and stops, or fold flat as pillow-style cushions [S12]. That dual-mode bolster is a smart bit of design, since a dog that sprawls sideways gets more usable width when the bolsters lie flat.
The surface is a gray suede-like fabric with a water-resistant coating for wet paws, light spills and drool, over a non-slip backing to reduce shifting on the cargo floor during normal driving [S12]. Adjustable headrest straps hold the rear panel in place, there's a storage pocket for leashes and towels, and a bumper flap shields the rear bumper during loading [S12].
Pros
- Five-sided coverage including the rear seat back and bumper area [S12]
- 2-inch orthopedic memory foam base, notably more cushion than a flat mat [S12]
- Two 6-inch bolsters usable upright or folded flat [S12]
- Water-resistant coated surface with non-slip backing [S12]
- Headrest straps, storage pocket and bumper flap included [S12]
- Note the wording carefully: the product title says waterproof-coated while the feature bullet describes a water-resistant coating designed to help handle wet paws, light spills and drool [S12]. Those are different scopes. Treat it as spill-resistant, not a sealed waterproof pan, and confirm with Duckygoo if you need true waterproofing.
- The listing does not publish the liner's dimensions in inches for the Large size, only the size name — Duckygoo tells buyers to measure their SUV cargo space [S12].
Verdict: The one to buy if your dog rides loose in a full-size SUV cargo bay and you want real cushioning plus bumper and seat-back coverage [S12].
Duckygoo SUV Cargo Liner for Dog, Orthopedic SUV Dog Bed for Truck, Medium — Best for smaller cargo areas and crossovers
Same design language, smaller size. The Medium version carries the identical published feature set: five-sided trunk protection over floor, side walls, rear seat back and bumper area; a 2-inch orthopedic memory foam base; two 6-inch side bolsters usable upright or folded flat; a water-resistant coated suede-like surface with non-slip backing; and headrest straps, a storage pocket and a bumper flap [S11].
If your vehicle is a compact crossover rather than a three-row SUV, buying the Large and folding the excess is a bad idea — a liner that bunches at the edges loses its non-slip contact and its bumper flap alignment. Duckygoo lists Medium, Large and Extra Large and advises measuring your cargo space for a better fit [S11].
Pros
- Same 2-inch memory foam base and 6-inch bolsters as the larger size, scaled down [S11]
- Five-sided coverage including bumper flap and rear seat back panel [S11]
- Water-resistant coated surface with non-slip backing [S11]
- Storage pocket keeps leashes and towels within reach [S11]
- Exact inch dimensions for the Medium size are not stated in the supplied listing, so measure your cargo floor and confirm with Duckygoo before ordering [S11].
- As with the Large, the coating is described in the feature bullet as water-resistant and aimed at wet paws, light spills and drool [S11] — not a sealed basin.
Verdict: Choose this over the Large when your cargo bay is genuinely smaller; the padding and coverage specs are the same, and correct fit is what makes the non-slip backing and bumper flap actually work [S11].
What to Look For
1. Match the carrier to your existing mounting hardware, not to a capacity number. The Goplus box requires a crossbar rack between 17 inches and 22.8 inches wide, with bar width under 3.1 inches and thickness under 1.0 inch [S5]. The StowAway is hitch-mounted [S4]. Neither works without the corresponding hardware, and no amount of cubic feet fixes a mounting mismatch.
2. Understand which weight limit governs. A carrier's load rating — 200 lb for the StowAway [S4], 165 lb for the Goplus [S5] — is a limit on that carrier. Your vehicle's roof load limit, hitch receiver class and tongue weight rating are separate figures published by your automaker and hitch manufacturer, and they typically include the carrier's own weight along with the cargo. Use the lowest applicable number.
3. Measure the opening, not just the floor. A crate's stated footprint is only half the battle. The MidWest crate is 30 inches tall [S3] and the Ferplast is 26 inches tall [S6]; on a sloping hatch, height under the closed liftgate decides which fits. Ferplast explicitly instructs buyers to measure the area first [S6].
4. Check ventilation, especially with a loaded roof box. When the cargo area is packed, airflow to a dog in the back gets worse. Ferplast publishes front and rear metal mesh plus vented side panels [S6]; Snagle Paw lists four mesh panels with roll-up front and top [S10]; the transparent-net barrier claims it won't block rear AC vent airflow [S9].
5. Prioritize access geometry for a dog that gets out often. The StowAway's Swingaway frame preserves hatch access without removing the carrier [S4], and the MidWest crate's two doors let you reach the dog from either the back seat or the tailgate [S3]. On a multi-stop trip these are the features you'll notice hourly.
6. Treat seller safety language as a claim, not a certification. "Escape proof" [S7], "indestructible" [S9] and "total protection" [S10] are marketing phrases published by the sellers. None of the supplied listings state an independent crash test or third-party certification. For general consumer product safety information and recall notices, the CPSC is the authoritative starting point [S1], and USA.gov publishes consumer protection guidance [S2].
7. Decide crate vs. barrier by your dog, not by budget. A barrier is lighter, folds into a bag and is faster to remove [S8]. A crate provides a defined enclosure and, in the Snagle Paw's case, a seat-belt-anchored one [S10]. Neither substitutes for the other.
How We Research
This website does not conduct hands-on or laboratory testing, and nothing on this page was handled, weighed, installed or driven with. Our method is document analysis: we pull each product's Amazon Creators API verified product record and read its published listing feature bullets line by line, all retrieved 2026-09-11.
From there we do the arithmetic and the cross-checking a shopper usually skips — comparing the stated 16 cubic feet and 200 lb rating of the StowAway [S4] against the 14 cubic feet and 165 lb rating of the Goplus [S5], lining up crate heights against hatch geometry, and flagging where a title and a feature bullet describe a coating differently, as with the Duckygoo waterproof-coated title versus the water-resistant coating bullet [S12].
Where a listing doesn't state something — a dog weight limit, a crash rating, an exact size in inches — we say so rather than guessing. Missing from a listing does not mean the manufacturer never publishes it; it means it isn't in the record we read.
Recommendation by Use Case
You need the most enclosed gear volume and your dog uses the hatch constantly: StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory, at 16 cubic feet with a 200 lb load rating and a frame that pivots aside for unobstructed hatch access [S4]. Confirm your receiver and tongue weight limits first.
Your SUV already has crossbars in the 17-22.8 inch range: Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening, with 14 cubic feet and a 165 lb capacity [S5].
Two dogs, one cargo bay: MidWest Homes for Pets Solutions Series Large Side-by-Side SUV Dog Crate, whose 21-inch width is explicitly designed for side-by-side placement and which supports dogs up to 90 lbs [S3].
One 40-60 lb dog and limited hatch height: Ferplast Atlas Vehicle SUV Dog Crate at 39 x 23 x 26 inches with a horizontally sliding door that needs no swing clearance [S6].
No usable cargo bay: Snagle Paw Portable Dog Crate for Car Travel, which secures to the rear seat with the seat belt plus two headrest straps and includes an interior safety leash [S10].
Crate needed at the destination too: Lesure Portable Soft Collapsible Dog Crate for Large Dogs, 36in Light Grey, with four zippered doors, a carrying handle, side pockets and a washable sherpa mattress [S7].
Dog rides loose in back: Petboda Dog Car Barrier for SUV Trunk Cargo Area if you need a foldable 62-inch cargo gate with headrest mounting [S8], or Dog Barrier for Car Back Seat & Cargo Area with Wider Coverage if the problem is front-seat climbing and you want a highly transparent mesh [S9].
Trunk protection and comfort: Duckygoo SUV Cargo Liner for Dogs, Waterproof-Coated Dog Trunk Cover, Large for a big cargo bay [S12], or Duckygoo SUV Cargo Liner for Dog, Orthopedic SUV Dog Bed for Truck, Medium for a smaller one [S11] — both with a 2-inch memory foam base and 6-inch bolsters.
Related reading on this site: how to measure your vehicle for a roof box and roof box vs hitch cargo carrier.
Final Verdict
If you're building one system and want the sharpest answer: pair the StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Ivory with the Ferplast Atlas Vehicle SUV Dog Crate. The StowAway's 16 cubic feet and 200 lb rating move the most gear of anything here, and its Swingaway frame is the only mechanism on this page described as preserving full hatch access without removing the carrier [S4] — which is exactly what a dog owner needs at every rest stop. Behind it, the Ferplast's 26-inch height and horizontally sliding door are the specs most likely to actually fit a real hatch opening [S6].
If your vehicle has crossbars instead of a hitch, swap in the Goplus box for its 14 cubic feet and 165 lb capacity [S5], and add a Duckygoo liner for the 2-inch memory foam base [S12].
One closing caution, because it's the part most roundups skip: every capacity figure quoted here belongs to the carrier or crate, not to your vehicle. Verify your roof load limit, hitch rating and tongue weight against your owner's manual, confirm crossbar or receiver fit with the carrier manufacturer, and never drive with a carrier lid open or unlatched. Recommendations here are conditional on that confirmed fit.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much weight can I put in a cargo box for dog food and gear? The Goplus carrier is rated at 165 lbs and the StowAway at 200 lbs by their respective manufacturers [S5][S4]. Those are carrier limits only. Your vehicle's roof load rating or hitch tongue weight rating is published separately by your automaker and typically includes the carrier's own weight plus the cargo. Always use the lowest applicable limit.
Will a waterproof cargo box keep dog food dry? Goplus describes its hard shell as protecting contents from exposure to the elements and says it withstands heavy use in different weather conditions [S5]. StowAway describes its box as weather-resistant and molded from impact-resistant polymer [S4]. Neither listing states an ingress protection rating, so for long trips it's still sensible to keep kibble in a sealed container inside the box.
Can two dogs fit in one SUV cargo area with crates? That's the specific design intent of the MidWest Homes for Pets Solutions Series Large Side-by-Side SUV Dog Crate, which MidWest lists at approximately 21 inches wide and describes as narrower than standard crates so two can sit side by side [S3]. Two units is roughly 42 inches across — measure your cargo bay width before ordering.
Do I need a crate, or is a barrier enough? A barrier contains a dog to a zone without enclosing it. The Petboda divider extends to 62 inches and mounts to rear headrests with bungee cords [S8], and the transparent-net barrier can deploy behind the front seats or in the cargo area [S9]. A crate gives a defined enclosure instead, and the Snagle Paw model adds seat-belt and headrest anchoring [S10]. None of the supplied listings state independent crash testing, so choose based on your dog's behavior and confirm fit either way.
Is a hitch carrier better than a roof box for a dog owner? For loading convenience, the hitch box has a specific advantage: the StowAway's Swingaway frame pivots completely to the side for unobstructed rear door, hatch or tailgate access without removing the carrier [S4]. That matters when a dog gets in and out repeatedly. A roof box like the Goplus keeps the rear clear entirely but raises vehicle height and requires a compatible crossbar rack [S5].
What should I put on the cargo floor under my dog? The Duckygoo liners cover five sides — floor, side walls, rear seat back and bumper area — over a 2-inch orthopedic memory foam base with two 6-inch bolsters and a non-slip backing [S12][S11]. Note that the feature bullets describe the surface coating as water-resistant, aimed at wet paws, light spills and drool [S12], so treat it as spill-resistant rather than a sealed basin.
Sources & Methodology
No one at this website drove with, mounted, loaded or handled any product listed above; there is no lab here and no vehicle fleet, and we say that plainly rather than dressing it up. What we did do is read each item's Amazon Creators API verified product record and every product listing feature bullet attached to it, all retrieved 2026-09-11, then compare the published figures against each other — cubic feet against cubic feet, load rating against load rating, crate height against crate height — and flag where a title and a bullet describe the same attribute differently.
That approach is well suited to this category, because cargo carriers and travel crates are bought or returned almost entirely on dimensions, mounting compatibility and stated load limits, and those are the numbers manufacturers publish. It is not sufficient for anything a spec sheet can't tell you: long-term weather sealing, real-world noise, crash performance, or how a specific latch ages. For safety recalls and general consumer product guidance, consult the CPSC [S1] and USA.gov's consumer protection resources [S2] directly.